
CLAIM AFFIDAVIT Form 2
(See Instructions on Reverse Side)

____________________________________ County, North Dakota Case No.______________

Full Name of Person(s) Filing Claim (PLAINTIFF(S)

Address City State Zip Code

Occupation Telephone Number

Full Name of Person(s) You are Suing  (DEFENDANT(S)

Address City State Zip Code

Occupation Telephone Number

PLAINTIFF(S) claims the following from the DEFENDANT(S): (Give a SHORT statement of the claim, reasons for the claims, and the
amount you are suing for.  TOTAL AMOUNT CLAIMED $_________________________ PLUS COURT COSTS.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

(Attach additional sheet if necessary.)     

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct. Dated this _____ day of ____________________, 20___.

____________________ County, North Dakota. ________________________________________________________
Plaintiff's Signature

****************************************************************************************************************

NOTICE TO DEFENDANT: REQUEST FOR HEARING/
REMOVAL TO DISTRICT COURT

If you, the Defendant, intend to contest this claim and request a hearing in small claims court, or request removal of this case to District
Court, you must file your REQUEST FOR HEARING/REMOVAL TO DISTRICT COURT (Form 3) with the Clerk of District Court
within 20 days of receipt of this Claim Affidavit.

Revised 05/2022



FORM 2 – INSTRUCTIONS TO THE PERSON WISHING TO FILE A CLAIM

STEP ONE:

STEP TWO:

First complete the "CLAIM AFFIDAVIT" (on the reverse side of this page).

You must have the full name and address of each person you sue.  After you have completed your 

CLAIM AFFIDAVIT you must sign it.

Fill out and sign an "Affidavit of Identification" (FORM 8) for each Defendant in the case.

Return the Claim Affidavit and an Affidavit of Identification for each Defendant to the Clerk of District Court.  
You must file the Claim Affidavit and pay the $10.00 filing fee BEFORE serving the Defendant.

Ask the Clerk of District Court to make 1 copy of the Claim Affidavit with the case number. You may 
be asked to pay a fee for the copy.

STEP THREE: You must now SERVE the Defendant with the following forms:

FORM 1 - Small Claims Court Information (keep 1 copy for yourself).

FORM 2 - Claim Affidavit (serve 1 copy of completed & signed Form 2).

FORM 3 - Request for Hearing/Removal to District Court (blank - don't fill out Form 3). 

FORM 4 – Defendant's Answer and Counterclaim (blank - don't fill out Form 4).

FORM 5 - Affidavit of Mailing for Counterclaim (blank - don't fill out Form 5).

FORM 7 - North Dakota Small Claims Court Act (keep 1 copy for yourself).

NOTE: If you are filing a claim against more than one Defendant, you must serve each Defendant with the
above copies.

The back of FORM 6 has your instructions on how to serve the Defendant.

STEP FOUR: You must next complete the "AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE" (FORM 6).  Fill out the appropriate section of

STEP FIVE:

FORM 6 and have the person mailing to or serving the Defendant sign the form.  If you mail the forms to 

the defendant by certified mail - restricted delivery, YOU MUST file the Affidavit of Service and the 
signed, green return receipt card with the Clerk of District Court AS SOON as you receive the green card 
from the post office.

If the sheriff serves the papers, the sheriff will provide you with a completed Affidavit of Service and Form 

6 may be discarded.  You must file the sheriff's affidavit with the Clerk of District Court as soon as you 
receive it from the sheriff's department.

If the defendant requests a hearing in small claims court on this claim, the court will schedule the hearing 

not less than 10 days nor more than 30 days after receiving the defendant's request.  The court will send 
notice to you of the hearing date.  At the time set for the hearing you MUST COME TO COURT.  If you fail 
to appear your claim may be dismissed, and you may be prohibited from bringing it up again.

Revised 05/2022
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