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FEBRUARY BAR EXAMINATION APPLICATION 
INSTRUCTIONS/FEES/CHECKLIST 

 
Administration of the February examination is dependent on ten or more 
applicants.  Application fees paid will be refunded only in the event of less 
than ten applicants.  The character and fitness investigative fee is not 
refundable.  

 
If you have submitted a North Dakota law student registration or a 
North Dakota bar examination application within the last three years, 
this is not the appropriate instruction sheet. The appropriate 
instructions can be found under the “Supplemental Application for Third 
Year Law Students” located under the Bar Exam Application section 
located at:  

http://www.ndcourts.gov/court/committees/BarBd/information.htm 
 

BAR EXAM FEE SCHEDULE & DEADLINES 
 
If you are a current law student and will be awarded your Juris Doctor degree 
prior to the opening day of the February exam, or your Juris Doctor degree was 
awarded not more than one year ago, and you have not filed a law student 
registration or have not submitted an application in another state, these are the 
appropriate instructions and the following fees apply.   
 
Applications to write the February examination must be postmarked by November 1 
prior to the February examination for which application is made to avoid the assessment 
of a late examination filing fee.  APPLICATIONS POSTMARKED AFTER DECEMBER 
1 WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.  
 

DEADLINES  TOTAL  BREAKDOWN OF FEES & PAYEE 

If the application is 
postmarked by 
November 1 

= $865 = $400 late law student registration filing fee 
$150 examination fee 
$550  

(Payable only by check or money order to 
“State Board of Law Examiners;” no credit 
cards accepted.) 

 
and 
 
$315 for the character and fitness investigation 

(Payable by check, money order, or credit 
card to the National Conference of Bar 
Examiners.) 

 

http://www.ndcourts.gov/court/committees/BarBd/information.htm
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If the application is 
postmarked after  
November 1st and on or 
before November 15th 

= $965 = $400 late law student registration filing fee 
$150 examination fee and 
$100 late examination fee 
$650 

(Payable only by check or money order to 
“State Board of Law Examiners;” no credit 
cards accepted.) 

 
and 
 
$315 for the character and fitness investigation 

(Payable by check, money order, or credit 
card to the National Conference of Bar 
Examiners.) 

 

If the application is 
postmarked after 
November 15th and on 
or before December 1st 

= $1,015 = $400 late character & fitness investigation fee 
$150 examination fee and 
$150 late examination fee 
$700 

(Payable only by check or money order to 
“State Board of Law Examiners;” no credit 
cards accepted.) 

 
and 
 
$315 for the character and fitness investigation 

(Payable by check, money order, or credit 
card to the National Conference of Bar 
Examiners.) 
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If your Juris Doctor degree was awarded more than one year ago or if you have 
submitted an application in another state, these are the appropriate instructions 
and the following fees apply.   
 

DEADLINES TOTAL  BREAKDOWN OF FEES & PAYEE 

If the application is 
postmarked by November 1 

 $600 = $150 examination fee  
(Payable only by check or money order 
to “State Board of Law Examiners;” no 
credit cards accepted.) 
 

and 
 
$450 for the character and fitness 
investigation 

(Payable by check, money order, or 
credit card to the National Conference of 
Bar Examiners.) 

 

If the application is 
postmarked after 
November 1st  and on or 
before November 15th 

$700 = $150 examination fee   
$100 late examination filing fee 
$250 

(Payable only by check or money order 
to “State Board of Law Examiners;” no 
credit cards accepted.) 

 
and 
 
$450 for the character and fitness 
investigation 

(Payable by check, money order, or 
credit card to the National Conference of 
Bar Examiners.) 
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If the application is 
postmarked after 
November 15th  and on 
or before December  1st 

$750 = $150 examination fee  
$150 late examination filing fee 
$300 

(Payable only by check or money order 
to “State Board of Law Examiners;” no 
credit cards accepted.) 

 
and 
 
$450 for the character and fitness 
investigation 

(Payable by check, money order, or 
credit card to the National Conference of 
Bar Examiners.) 

 
 
CHECKLIST  
 
The following items are required to be submitted to the State Board of Law Examiners 
(Board) as part of your bar examination application: 
 
* Fees (according to schedule set out above) 
 
* Request an NCBE number at http://www.ncbex.org/NCBE-number if you have 

not already done so.   Your unique NCBE number will be used as the unique 
identifier for the Character and Fitness Application, Multistate Bar Examination 
(MBE), Uniform Bar Examination (UBE), and Multistate Professional 
Responsibility (MPRE) scores, and may be used as an identifier for other bar 
admission related purposes. 

 
*  National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) application.  The application must 

be completed online, printed, signed before a notary public, and the ORIGINAL 
AND ONE COPY filed with the Board of Law Examiners.  (No handwritten or 
manually typed applications are accepted unless there is sufficient demonstration 
of the inability to complete the application online.)  (The character and fitness 
application is accessed through your NCBE account.)    

 
* Three NCBE release forms (originals) (included with the online Bar application) 
 
* One executed original “Exam Petition” form  
  [http://www.ndcourts.gov/court/committees/BarBd/Exam-Petition.pdf] 
 
* One executed original Board authorization and release form. [ND Release.pdf] 

This is in addition to the three NCBE release forms included in the bar 
application.  

 
* 2” x 2” recent photograph 

http://www.ncbex.org/NCBE-number
http://www.ndcourts.gov/court/committees/BarBd/Exam-Petitionform.pdf
http://www.ndcourts.gov/court/committees/BarBd/Release-general.pdf
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* Official pre-legal education transcript(s) sent directly from the registrar of the 

institution(s) attended 
 
* Official legal education transcript reflecting receipt of the JD degree sent directly 

from the registrar of the institution attended.  (Request after graduation; due by 
February 1) 

 
* Copy of the law school application forwarded directly by the law school 

admission office to the Board 
 
* Requests for special testing accommodations must accompany this application 

and will be referred to the Board for consideration.  Forms are available at: 
Special Accommodation Request forms. 

 
 

Retain a copy of your application for your records as requests for a copy will involve a 
copying charge. 

 
Return ORIGINAL AND ONE COPY of completed application and all fees to: 
 

State Board of Law Examiners 
Judicial Wing, 1st Fl. 
600 E Boulevard Ave. 
Bismarck, ND  58505-0530 
 

APPLICATION PROCESS: 
 

1. File application with required documentation and fees.  Make arrangements for 
outside documents to be filed with the State Board of Law Examiners (Board). 
Remind your references and former and present employers to promptly respond 
to the reference request from the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE).  
 

2. Receive a confirmation letter from the Board. Sometimes a request for further 
information will be included in the letter. Promptly respond to any request for 
absent or additional documentation. 
 

3. May receive correspondence directly from NCBE. 
 

4. You will receive no confirmation that your character and fitness investigation is 
completed.  
 

5. Your investigation is not finalized until after the examination. You do not need to 
pass the character and fitness investigation in order to sit for the North Dakota 
exam. 

 
 
 

http://www.ndcourts.gov/court/committees/BarBd/specaccom.pdf
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REMEMBER: 
 

 Each question on the application must be answered completely. If a question 
does not apply, enter N/A.  Give complete addresses, including street names and 
numbers, city, state, and postal zip codes.  
 

 Include all adult charges – whether or not they were expunged. Include the 
officer’s report, complaint, and disposition of charges. 
 

 Lawsuits – include summons, complaint, and disposition documents. 
 

 Be honest.  If there is a question, err on the side of providing the information to 
the Board. 

Revised 05/2016 


