JULY BAR EXAMINATION APPLICATION

INSTRUCTIONS/FEES/CHECKLIST

If you have submitted a North Dakota law student registration or a
North Dakota bar examination application within the last three years,

this is not the appropriate

instruction sheet. The appropriate

instructions can be found under the “Supplemental Application for Third
Year Law Students” located under the Bar Exam Application section

located at:

http://www.ndcourts.gov/court/committees/BarBd/information.htm

BAR EXAM FEE SCHEDULE & DEADLINES

If you are a current law student and it is after November 1 of your third year OR if
your Juris Doctor degree was awarded not more than one year ago, and you have
not filed a law student registration or have not submitted an application in
another state, these are the appropriate instructions and the following fees apply.

Applications to write the July examination must be postmarked by March 15 prior to the
July examination for which application is made to avoid the assessment of a late
examination filing fee. APPLICATIONS POSTMARKED ON OR AFTER MAY 15 WILL

NOT BE ACCEPTED.

DEADLINES

TOTAL

BREAKDOWN OF FEES & PAYEE

If the application is
postmarked by March 15

$865

$400 late law student registration filing fee

$150 examination fee

$550
(Payable only by check or money order to
“State Board of Law Examiners;” no credit
cards accepted.)

and

$315 for the character and fitness
investigation
(Payable by check, money order, or credit
card to the National Conference of Bar

Examiners.)
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If the application is $965 $400 late law student registration filing fee
postmarked after March $150 examination fee and
15 and on or before April $100 late examination fee
15 $650
(Payable only by check or money order to
“State Board of Law Examiners;” no credit
cards accepted.)
and
$315 for the character and fitness
investigation
(Payable by check, money order, or credit
card to the National Conference of Bar
Examiners. )
If the application is $1,015 $400 late character & fitness investigation fee

postmarked after April 15
and on or before May 15

$150 examination fee and

$150 late examination fee

$700
(Payable only by check or money order to
“State Board of Law Examiners;” no credit
cards accepted.)

and

$315 for the character and fithess
investigation
(Payable by check, money order, or credit
card to the National Conference of Bar
Examiners.)

2| Page




If your Juris Doctor degree was awarded more than one year ago or if you have
submitted an application in another state, these are the appropriate instructions
and the following fees apply.

DEADLINES

TOTAL

BREAKDOWN OF FEES & PAYEE

If the application is
postmarked by March 15

$600

$150 examination fee
(Payable only by check or money order to
“State Board of Law Examiners;” no credit
cards accepted.)

and

$450 for the character and fitness investigation
(Payable by check, money order, or credit
card to the National Conference of Bar
Examiners. )

If the application is
postmarked after March
15 and on or before April
15

$700

$150 examination fee

$100 late examination filing fee

$250
(Payable only by check or money order to
“State Board of Law Examiners;” no credit
cards accepted.)

and

$450 for the character and fitness investigation
(Payable by check, money order, or credit
card to the National Conference of Bar
Examiners.)
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If the application is $750 | =| $150 examination fee

postmarked after April 15 $150 late examination filing fee

and on or before May 15 $300

(Payable only by check or money order to
“State Board of Law Examiners;” no credit
cards accepted.)

and

$450 for the character and fitness investigation
(Payable by check, money order, or credit
card to the National Conference of Bar
Examiners.)

Fees paid are not refundable.

*k%k

CHECKLIST

The following items are required to be submitted to the State Board of Law Examiners
(Board) as your bar examination application:

* Fees (according to schedule set out above)

* Request an NCBE number at http://www.ncbex.org/NCBE-number if you have
not already done so. Your unique NCBE number will be used as the unique
identifier for the Character and Fitness Application, Multistate Bar Examination
(MBE), Uniform Bar Examination (UBE), and Multistate Professional
Responsibility (MPRE) scores, and may be used as an identifier for other bar
admission related purposes.

* National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) application. The application must
be completed online, printed, signed before a notary public, and the ORIGINAL
AND ONE COPY filed with the Board of Law Examiners. (No handwritten or
typed applications are accepted unless there is a sufficient demonstration of the
inability to complete the application online.) (The character and fitness
application is accessed through your NCBE account.)

* Three NCBE release forms (originals) (included with the online Bar application)

* One executed original “Exam Petition” form
[http://www.ndcourts.gov/court/committees/BarBd/Exam-Petition.pdf]

* One executed original Board authorization and release form.
[http://www.ndcourts.gov/court/committees/BarBd/Release-general.pdf] This is in
addition to the three NCBE release forms included in the bar application.

* 2” x 2” recent photograph
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Official pre-legal education transcript(s) sent directly from the registrar of the
institution(s) attended

Official legal education transcript reflecting receipt of the JD degree sent directly
from the registrar of the institution attended. (Request after graduation; due by
July 1)

Copy of the law school application forwarded directly by the law school
admission office to the Board

Requests for special testing accommodations must accompany this application
and will be referred to the Board for consideration. Forms are available at:
Special Accommodation Request forms.

Retain a copy of your application for your records as requests for a copy will involve a
copying charge.

Return ORIGINAL AND ONE COPY of completed application and all fees to:

State Board of Law Examiners
Judicial Wing, 1st Fl.

600 E Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0530

*k%k

APPLICATION PROCESS:

1.

File application with required documentation and fees. Make arrangements for
outside documents to be filed with the State Board of Law Examiners (Board).
Remind your references and former and present employers to promptly respond
to the reference request from the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE).

Receive a confirmation letter from the Board. Sometimes a request for further
information will be included in the letter. Promptly respond to any request for
absent or additional documentation.

May receive correspondence directly from NCBE.

You will receive no confirmation that your character and fitness investigation is
completed.

Your investigation is not finalized until after the examination. You do not need to
pass the character and fitness investigation in order to sit for the North Dakota
exam.
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REMEMBER:
Each question on the application must be answered completely. If a question
does not apply, enter N/A. Give complete addresses, including street names and
numbers, city, state, and postal zip codes.

Include all adult charges — whether or not they were expunged. Include the
officer’s report, complaint, and disposition of charges.

Lawsuits — include summons, complaint, and disposition documents.

Be honest. If there is a question, err on the side of providing the information to

the Board.
Revised 05/2016
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