RULE 707. ANALYTICAL REPORT ADMISSION; CONFRONTATION
(a) Notification to defendant. If the prosecution intends to introduce an analytical report
issued under N.D.C.C. chs. 19-03.1, 19-03.2, 19-03.4, 20.1-13.1, 20.1-15, 39-06.2, or 39-20
in a criminal trial, it must notify the defendant or the defendant's attorney in writing of its
intent to introduce the report and must also serve a copy of the report on the defendant or the
at least no later than 30 days before the
trial after the initial appearance.
At least 14 days before the trial, the Within 30 days of
receiving the copy of
the report, the defendant may object in writing to the introduction of the report and identify
the name or job title of the witness a person who made a testimonial
statement in the report
to be produced to testify about the report at trial. If objection is made, the prosecutor must
produce the person requested. If the witness is not available to testify, the court must grant
(c) Waiver. If the defendant does not timely object to the introduction of the report, the defendant's right to confront the person who prepared the report is waived.
(d) Juvenile proceedings. This procedure applies to juvenile proceedings that involve analytical reports issued under N.D.C.C. chs. 19-03.1, 19-03.2, 19-03.4, 20.1-13.1, 20.1-15, 39-06.2, or 39-20.
Rule 707 was adopted effective February 1, 2010. Rule 707 was amended, effective March 1, 2011.
Rule 707 requires the prosecution to notify a defendant if it intends to introduce an analytical report in a criminal trial. If the defendant objects to the admission of the report, the defendant must identify the witness it seeks to examine about the report at trial and the prosecution must produce the witness.
Some examples of analytical reports include: a certified copy of an analytical report of a blood, urine, or saliva sample from the director of the state crime laboratory or the director's designee; a certified copy of the checklist and test records from a certified breath test operator; or a certified copy of an analytical report signed by the director of the state crime laboratory or the director's designee of the results of the analytical findings involving the analysis of a controlled substance or sample.
Under North Dakota law, if the person who prepared the report does not testify at trial, a certified copy of an analytical report must be accepted as prima facie evidence of the results of a chemical analysis. See N.D.C.C. §§ 19-03.1-37(4), 20.1-13.1-10(6), 20.1-15-11(8), 39-20-07(8), and 39-24.1-08(6).
Sources: Joint Procedure Committee Minutes of September 23-24, 2010, pages 10-13; Melendez-Diaz v. Massachusetts, 129 S.Ct. 2527 (2009)
Superseded: N.D.C.C. §§ 19-03.1-37(5), 20.1-13.1-10(7), 20.1-15-11(9), 39-20-07(9), and 39-24.1-08(7).
Considered: N.D.C.C. §§ 19-03.1-37(4), 20.1-13.1-10(6), 20.1-15-11(8),
39-20-07(8), and 39-24.1-08(6).