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Frequently Asked Questions 

How long does it take to process an application based on motion? 

An application for admission to the North Dakota Bar based on eligibility by practice or test score takes 

approximately six months to process. 

What are common mistakes people make that delay their applications? 

• Completing your application by hand or by manual typewriter. No handwritten or manually typed 

applications are accepted unless there is a sufficient demonstration of the inability to complete the 

application online through the NCBE at http://www.ncbex.org.  

• Failure to answer every question. It is very important that you answer every question. If there is a 

question you don't think applies to you, you must answer the question by answering that it is not 

applicable. A good rule of thumb is to assume a question applies and to provide the information. Not 

answering a question, or giving an incomplete answer or incomplete information, without 

explanation, can delay processing of your application. 

• Failure to provide a recent 2x2 color photo 

• Failure to provide a North Dakota release form 

• Failure to sign the Acknowledgment page of your application, inconsistent signing and notarization 

dates, crossing out information, or any appearance that the Acknowledgment has been altered. (The 

NCBE will halt their investigation for any of these reasons.) 

• Failure to sign your NCBE releases, inconsistent signing and notarization dates, crossing out 

information, or any appearance that the NCBE releases have been altered.   

• Failure to provide appropriate fees and to provide separate payment to the Board of Law Examiners 

and the NCBE.  Please note payment of the application fee to the Board of Law Examiners cannot be 

paid by credit card.   

• Failure to provide the Motion Petition (motion applicants) 

• Failure to provide evidence of completion of the required CLE requirements (motion applicants) 

• Failure to provide a judge reference (motion applicants) 

• Failure to have your MPRE and MBE/UBE scores transferred to North Dakota (motion by test score 

applicants) 

• Failure to provide certificates of admission, good standing and disciplinary history from each state 

court jurisdiction (motion applicants) 

• Failure to provide Juris Doctor transcript (exam applicants) 

• Failure to have your MPRE scores transferred to our jurisdiction (exam applicants) 

• Sending a double-sided application and release forms.  All documents need to be single-sided. 

When is the Bar exam administered? 

The July bar exam is given the last Tuesday and Wednesday of July. The February bar exam (if there are 

at least 10 applicants) is given the last Tuesday and Wednesday of February. 

http://www.ncbex.org/
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What are the deadlines and fees for the law student registration? 

The filing of a Law Student Registration does not constitute the filing of a bar examination application. A 
law student must still submit a supplemental application to take the North Dakota State Bar 
examination. Please refer to the supplemental application instructions for bar exam applicants to 
determine the appropriate deadlines and fees.  

DEADLINES FEES 

By October 1 of the second year of 
law school or no later than 14 months 
after the applicant's first day of the 
first year of law school 

$225 for the character and fitness investigation (payable by 
check, money order, or credit card to the National Conference 
of Bar Examiners) 
 
*Must apply separately to sit for the Bar exam. 

After 14 months following the 
applicant's first day of the first year of 
law school and by May 15 of the 
second year 

$315 for the character and fitness investigation (payable by 
check, money order, or credit card to the National Conference 
of Bar Examiners) 
 
$150 late fee to the ND State Board of Law Examiners (payable 
only by check or money order to the ND State Board of Law 
Examiners; no credit cards accepted) 
 
*Must apply separately to sit for the Bar exam. 

After May 15 of the second year and 
before November 1 of the third year 

$315 for the character and fitness investigation (payable by 
check, money order, or credit card to the National Conference 
of Bar Examiners) 
 
$250 late fee to the ND State Board of Law Examiners (payable 
only by check or money order to the State Board of Law 
Examiners; no credit cards accepted) 
 
*Must apply separately to sit for the Bar exam. 

On and after November 1 of the third 
year, please refer to the deadlines 
and fees for the February or July bar 
exam (as applicable to you) to 
determine the appropriate deadlines 
and fees. 

**Please Note:  If you are in your third year of law school, 
have not filed a law student registration, and plan to take the 
February bar exam, you must follow the instructions for the 
February bar exam, which includes paying a $400 late law 
student registration fee.   
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What are the deadlines and fees to apply for the Bar exam? 

FEBRUARY BAR EXAM If you are a current law student and will be awarded your Juris Doctor degree 
prior to the opening day of the February exam, or your Juris Doctor degree was awarded not more 
than one year ago, and you have not filed a law student registration or have not , or have not 
submitted an application in another state, the following deadlines and fees apply. 

 

DEADLINES  TOTAL  BREAKDOWN OF FEES & PAYEE 

If the application is 
postmarked by November 1 

= $865 = $400 late law student registration filing fee 
$150 examination fee 
$550 

(Payable only by check or money order to “State 
Board of Law Examiners;” no credit cards accepted) 

 
and 
 
$315 for the character and fitness investigation 

(Payable by check, money order, or credit card to the 
National Conference of Bar Examiners.) 

 

If the application is 
postmarked after  
November 1st and on or 
before November 15th   

= $965 = $400 late law student registration filing fee 
$150 examination fee and 
$100 late examination fee 
$650 

(Payable only by check or money order to “State 
Board of Law Examiners;” no credit cards accepted) 

 
and 
 
$315 for the character and fitness investigation 

(Payable by check, money order, or credit card to the 
National Conference of Bar Examiners.) 
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If the application is 
postmarked after November 
15th and on or before 
December 1st 

= $1,015 = $400 late character & fitness investigation fee 
$150 examination fee and 
$150 late examination fee 
$700 

(Payable only by check or money order to “State 
Board of Law Examiners;” no credit cards accepted) 

 
and 
 
$315 for the character and fitness investigation 

(Payable by check, money order, or credit card to the 
National Conference of Bar Examiners.) 

Applications postmarked 
after December 1 will not be 
accepted. 

    

If your Juris Doctor degree was awarded more than one year ago or if you have submitted an 
application in another state, the following deadlines and fees apply.  

DEADLINES TOTAL  BREAKDOWN OF FEES & PAYEE 

If the application is 
postmarked by November 1 

$600 = $150 examination fee  
(Payable only by check or money order to “State 
Board of Law Examiners;” no credit cards 
accepted) 
 

and 
 
$450 for the character and fitness investigation 

(Payable by check, money order, or credit card 
to the National Conference of Bar Examiners.) 

 

If the application is 
postmarked after November 
1st  and on or before 
November 15th 

$700 = $150 examination fee   
$100 late examination filing fee 
$250 

(Payable only by check or money order to “State 
Board of Law Examiners;” no credit cards 
accepted) 

 
and 
 
$450 for the character and fitness investigation 

(Payable by check, money order, or credit card 
to the National Conference of Bar Examiners.) 
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If the application is 
postmarked after 
November 15th and on or 
before December 1st 

$750 = $150 examination fee  
$150 late examination filing fee 
$300 

(Payable only by check or money order to “State 
Board of Law Examiners;” no credit cards 
accepted) 

 
and 
 
$450 for the character and fitness investigation 

(Payable by check, money order, or credit card 
to the National Conference of Bar Examiners.) 

Applications postmarked 
after December 1 will not 
be accepted. 

   

JULY BAR EXAM If you are a current law student and it is on or after November 1 of your third year OR if 
your Juris Doctor degree was awarded not more than one year ago, and you have not filed a law student 
registration or have not submitted an application in another state, the following deadlines and fees 
apply.  

DEADLINES  TOTAL  BREAKDOWN OF FEES & PAYEE 

If the application is 
postmarked by March 15 

= $865 = $400 late law student registration filing fee 
$150 examination fee 
$550 

(Payable only by check or money order to “State 
Board of Law Examiners;” no credit cards accepted) 
 

and 
 

$315 for the character and fitness investigation 
(Payable by check, money order, or credit card to 
the National Conference of Bar Examiners. ) 
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If the application is 
postmarked after March 15 
and on or before April 15 

= $965 = $400 late law student registration filing fee 
$150 examination fee and 
$100 late examination fee 
$650 

(Payable only by check or money order to “State 
Board of Law Examiners;” no credit cards accepted) 
 

and 
 

$315 for the character and fitness investigation 
(Payable by check, money order, or credit card to 
the National Conference of Bar Examiners.) 

 

If the application is 
postmarked after April 15 and 
on or before May 15 

= $1,015 = $400 late character & fitness investigation fee 
$150 examination fee and 
$150 late examination fee 
$700 

(Payable only by check or money order to “State 
Board of Law Examiners;” no credit cards accepted) 
 

and 
 

$315 for the character and fitness investigation 
(Payable by check, money order, or credit card to 
the National Conference of Bar Examiners. ) 

Applications postmarked 
after May 15 will not be 
accepted. 

    

If your Juris Doctor degree was awarded more than one year ago or if you have submitted an application 
in another state, the following fees apply.  

 

DEADLINES TOTAL  BREAKDOWN OF FEES & PAYEE 

If the application is 
postmarked by March 15 

$600 = $150 examination fee  
(Payable only by check or money order to “State 
Board of Law Examiners;” no credit cards accepted) 

 
and 
 

$450 for the character and fitness investigation 
(Payable by check, money order, or credit card to 
the National Conference of Bar Examiners.) 
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If the application is 
postmarked after March 15 
and on or before April 15  

$700 = $150 examination fee   
$100 late examination filing fee 
$250 

(Payable only by check or money order to “State 
Board of Law Examiners;” no credit cards accepted) 

 
and 
 

$450 for the character and fitness investigation 
(Payable by check, money order, or credit card to 
the National Conference of Bar Examiners.) 

 

If the application is 
postmarked after April 15 and 
on or before May 15 

$750 = $150 examination fee  
$150 late examination filing fee 
$300 

(Payable only by check or money order to “State 
Board of Law Examiners;” no credit cards accepted) 
 

and 
 

$450 for the character and fitness investigation 
(Payable by check, money order, or credit card to 
the National Conference of Bar Examiners.) 

Applications postmarked 
after May 15 will not be 
accepted. 

   

 

What are the deadlines and fees for a supplemental bar exam application? 
 
If you have submitted a North Dakota law student registration or a North Dakota Bar examination 
application within the last three years, a Supplemental Application to update the character and fitness 
application may be required if determined by the Board.  If it has been longer than three years since you 
submitted an application, a new bar application is required.  Please refer to the Bar Examination 
instructions. 
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Supplemental Bar Exam Fee Schedule & Deadlines 

$150 - Bar exam fee payable only by check or money order to the "State Board of Law 
Examiners."  

$90 -  If a law student timely filed their law student registration with the State Board of Law 
Examiners by October 1 of the applicant's second year of law school or in no event 
later than 14 months after the applicant's first day of the first year of law school, a 
$90 fee for a supplemental character and fitness investigation is required. This fee is 
payable by check, money order, or credit card to the National Conference of Bar 
Examiners. (For law students who did not timely file their law student registration, a 
supplemental fee may be required if determined by the Board.  Please contact the 
Board office to determine if this fee is required.) 

Late exam fees  

 
No late fees are charged if a retake exam applicant is applying for the bar exam immediately subsequent 
to the exam in which the applicant was unsuccessful.   
 
Late exam fees are charged for a retake exam applicant if it is beyond the bar exam immediately 
subsequent to the exam in which the applicant was unsuccessful.  The following late exam fees then 
apply: 

July exam 

$100 late fee if bar exam application is postmarked after March 15 and on or before April 15  

 $150 late fee if bar exam application is postmarked after April 15 and on or before May 15 

No applications accepted after May 15 

February exam 

$100 late fee if bar exam application is postmarked after November 1 and on or before 

November 15 

 
$150 late fee if bar exam application is postmarked after November 15 and on or before 
December 1  

No applications accepted after December 1 

What are the fees to apply for admission by motion (whether based on practice or test score)? 

$400 -  application fee payable only by check or money order to the State Board of Law Examiners; no 
credit cards accepted. 

$450 -  character and fitness investigation fee in the form of a check, money order or credit card 
payable to the National Conference of Bar Examiners.  
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What is the fee to file a pro hac vice motion? 

$380 payable only by check or money order to the State Board of Law Examiners; no credit cards 
accepted. 

 
What are the annual dues for admitted attorneys? 
 
Fee schedule adopted and amended by the State Bar Association in June 2004: 
 
$325 – one year or less from date of admission; 
$350 – more than one and less than five years from date of admission; 
$380 – five or more years from date of admission;  
$200 – admitted after September of current year. 
 
Under N.D.C.C. 27-12-04, $75 of every license fee is used to pay for lawyer discipline.   

What if I do not know a judge to provide as a reference (With my application by motion based on 
practice)? 

The rules require that you provide the contact information of a judge who can attest to your character 

and fitness. If your practice is such that you do not practice before a judge (e.g. you do transactional 

work), provide the name, mailing address, and email address of a judge who knows you personally or 

socially. If you absolutely do not know a judge, provide the name of an attorney who is familiar with you 

and your practice - preferably one who has worked in opposition to you - who can attest to your 

character and fitness. 

Can/should I alert my references that they will be contacted by NCBE and/or the Board of Law 

Examiners? 

Yes. Remind your personal references and former and present employers to promptly respond to the 

reference request form from NCBE and/or the Board. This will increase the chances that your character 

and fitness investigation does not get delayed. 

What civil and/or criminal matters do I need to disclose? 

Any that would be applicable to the call of the question.  When in doubt, self-disclosure is the best 

policy. For criminal matters, include ALL adult charges - whether or not they were expunged. Provide 

copies of the officer's report, complaint, and disposition documents. For civil matters, provide copies of 

the complaint and disposition documents. 
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I have debt/credit concerns. What do I disclose? 

If you have credit/debt issues, include an affidavit with your application which provides the Board with 

sufficient information to explain your credit/debt situation. If you have any unresolved debts (e.g. in 

collection, outstanding judgments, etc.), please provide an affidavit explaining your plan to resolve the 

debt. Be aware that a full credit report may be requested of you (not the free on-line credit report). 

Do you need my Juris Doctor transcript before I can sit for the Bar exam? 

Yes. If you are applying to take the bar exam, your completed JD transcript must be on file before you 

are allowed to sit for the exam. The transcript must come directly from the law school and indicate that 

your JD degree has been conferred. 

What if there have been changes to anything stated in my application? 

After you submit your application, you have a continuing obligation to provide updates, by affidavit, as 

changes to the information occur. This would include changes to all of the information you provided, 

including changes in address or employment. This obligation continues until the Board makes a 

recommendation regarding your admission to the Bar. 

How many copies of my application should I send? 

Mail the original and one copy of your application, one original and copy of all releases, and all fees to: 

State Board of Law Examiners 
Judicial Wing, 1st Fl 
600 E. Boulevard Ave.  
Bismarck, ND 58505-0530 

Who do I contact if I have other questions? 

Phone: 701-328-4201  

Fax: 701-328-4480  

Email:   BarExaminers@ndcourts.gov 
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