RULE 6.1 TEMPORARY LICENSE FOR ATTORNEYS APPLYING FOR ADMISSION
(A) Any attorney meeting the following qualifications may apply for the privilege to practice
law temporarily in North Dakota as provided in this rule.
(1) The attorney must be a member in good standing of the bar of another state or the District of Columbia and shall:
(a) be an applicant for admission to the North Dakota Bar under Rule 6 or Rule 7, and meet all eligibility requirements of those rules; and
(b) not be the subject of any suspension or disbarment proceedings in any court or the subject of any pending disciplinary complaints.
(B) The attorney shall file an application with the Board, which must be attested to or sworn and state:
(1) that the attorney has applied for admission to the practice of law in North Dakota under Rule 6 or Rule 7; and
(2) the name and address of an associate attorney admitted and licensed to practice law in this state.
(C) Attached to the application must be a statement from the associate attorney that he or she has agreed to serve as an associate attorney under this rule, is admitted and licensed to practice of law in this state, and agrees to fulfill the responsibilities of an associate attorney described under Rule 3A.
(D) The application must be accompanied by a fee of $100. If the temporary license is in effect more than six months, an additional fee of $50 is required. All fees collected under this rule must be divided equally between the State Bar Association and the Board of Law Examiners.
(E) Upon approval by the Board, the applicant shall be issued a temporary license to practice law in this state. The temporary license is valid for no more than 12six months from the date of issuance.
(F) The Board shall summarily revoke the temporary license if the applicant:
(1) files an untruthful affidavit with the Board;
(2) fails the bar examination;
(3) fails to take the bar examination when eligible to do so;
(4) receives a negative recommendation for admission on character and fitness grounds;
(5) has formal disciplinary proceedings instituted against the applicant;
(6) withdraws the application for admission to practice law under Rule 6 or 7; or
(7) is admitted to the practice of law in North Dakota under Rule 6 or 7.
The Board shall notify the Disciplinary Board of the Supreme Court of any person whose temporary license is revoked under 1 through 6.