Refer to Rule 7(A) of the North Dakota Admission to Practice Rules

FEES

- \$400 Application Fee payable to *State Board of Law Examiners* by check or money order only (no credit cards). This fee is non-refundable.
- Character & Fitness Investigation Fee payable directly to the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE).
 Refer to the <u>NCBE Fee Schedule</u>.

Note: These fees must be paid separately to the respective recipients.

OVERVIEW – APPLICATION PROCESS

It is your responsibility to read and follow all instructions carefully. Failure to comply with any instructions may result in rejection of your application.

North Dakota uses the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) to assist in conducting character and fitness investigations.

Steps:

- 1. Apply Online
 - Complete your application online at the NCBE website. Upload required documents. Pay NCBE investigation fee.
 - Mail application packet & application fee to the Board.
 - Encourage references, employers, etc. to respond to NCBE & Board requests.
- 2. Confirmation
 - The Board of Law Examiners will email you when your application is accepted and if more information is needed.
- 3. Follow-Up from NCBE or the Board
 - You may receive requests for more information from NCBE or the Board. Promptly respond to any requests for absent or additional documentation.
- 4. Processing Time
 - Motion applications typically take 4-6 months, but can take longer.

APPLICATION REMINDERS

- Answer all questions thoroughly including full addresses and emails.
- Use an active email for your NCBE account this is how the Board contacts you.
- Criminal history: Include all adult charges, even if expunged. Upload officer's reports, complaints & dispositions.
- Civil lawsuits: Upload complaints & final dispositions.
- When in doubt disclose. Transparency is key.

CHECKLIST

Applicant Name

Step 1 - Complete Application:

Complete the <u>Application</u> online via the NCBE website. Upload all supporting documents. Pay investigation fee. Completing the application form online does not constitute filing an application with the Board. See Step 2 must be completed.

 Note: Two of the 6 required personal references must be clients not related to you by blood or marriage (indicate "client" behind their name). If you cannot identify two client references, submit an affidavit explaining why.

Step 2 - Mail-in Core Documents:

Mail the following documents and fee directly to the ND State Board of Law Examiners. Your application is not considered received until the following <u>core documents</u> are timely received at the Board's office.

This checklist, completed and checked off

- \$400 application fee (check or money order to ND State Board of Law Examiners)
- Acknowledgment of Complete Application (The Acknowledgment is a linked document in the Completion Checklist in your NCBE Account. Select "Character & Fitness" and the application in question. In the "Actions" column, select "View Checklist".)
- 2" x 2" recent color photo
- Signed Motion Petition form (original)
- Signed <u>ND Release</u> (original)
- Certificate of Admission & Good Standing from the state jurisdiction(s) where admitted.
- Disciplinary Certificate from the state disciplinary authority in each jurisdiction where admitted disclosing <u>all</u> pending or prior disciplinary proceedings (public and private) or affirming there have been no such proceedings.
- The affidavits delineated in Rule 7(A)(2), Admission to Practice Rules. (Information required to be attested to by affidavit may be combined into a single document. In lieu of a notarized affidavit, an unsworn declaration may be used if it follows substantially the form set forth in N.D.C.C. 31-15-05.)
 - Affidavit identifying all jurisdictions where applicant has applied for admission and the final decision of the admitting authority in each jurisdiction.
 - Affidavit disclosing the place or places in the other state or states or District of Columbia where the applicant has practiced law.

Provide the name and mailing address of a judge who has presided in a court before which the applicant has practiced law. If the judge is amenable to receiving communications by email, please provide an email address.

 If the nature of your practice is transactional and you are not able to provide a judge reference, you can provide the name of a judge you know on a personal basis who can attest to your character and fitness. Please provide his/her name, email, and mailing address. If not, please provide the name, email, and mailing address of an attorney who is familiar with your work, preferably one who was on the opposing side in one of your transactional matters.

Proof of 12 hours of approved CLE, including 1 hour of ethics, completed within 36 months prior to your application. See Admission to Practice <u>Rule 7(C)</u>. Proof must be in affidavit form and attach a CLE transcript containing the name of each course attended, the sponsoring agency, a brief description of each course, location, date held, and number of credits earned. Submitting an application with deficiencies in CLE hours may result in rejection of your application.

Affidavit from two attorneys (not within your own law firm) attesting to your character and fitness.

- Affidavit or Unsworn Declaration addressing the following:
 - 1. Whether you have read Rule 5.5 of the North Dakota Rules of Professional Conduct;
 - 2. Whether you currently or have ever worked as a lawyer in North Dakota;
 - 3. Do you currently or have you ever had a law office in North Dakota;
 - 4. Whether, on behalf of any other person or entity, you have drafted deeds, mortgages, or other legal instruments associated with the transfer and/or encumbrances of title to North Dakota real property;
 - 5. Whether, on behalf of any other person or entity, you have examined title information and/or rendered opinions concerning the validity of title to North Dakota real property;
 - 6. Whether, on behalf of any other person or entity, you have given advice concerning documentation necessary to cure a cloud on the title to North Dakota real property; and
 - 7. Whether, on behalf of any other person or entity, you have given advice or drafted documents concerning or regarding North Dakota law.

(In lieu of a notarized affidavit, an unsworn declaration may be used if it follows substantially the form set forth in N.D.C.C. 31-15-05.)

AMENDMENTS

It is your responsibility to update your application during its pendency. If anything changes (address, background, employment, etc.), log into your <u>NCBE Account</u> and select Amend Application.

Tip: Keep a copy of your application and amendments for your records.

MAIL COMPLETED APPLICATION PACKETS TO:

State Board of Law Examiners Judicial Wing, 1st Floor 600 E Boulevard Ave. Bismarck, ND 58505-0530

Email: <u>barexaminers@ndcourts.gov</u>

C Phone: 701-328-4201

Updated: July 2025