North Dakota February Bar Exam Application Guide

READ FIRST: Am I Using the Right Instructions?

- **YES:** If you have **not** submitted a North Dakota law student registration in the past 3 years.
- NO: If you have submitted a North Dakota law student registration in the past 3 years, follow the "Third-Year Law Students Supplemental Application Guide" found at: 👉 Bar Exam **Application**

IMPORTANT

Administration of the February examination is dependent on 17 or more applicants. Exam and late fees will be refunded only in the event of less than 17 applicants.



OVERVIEW - APPLICATION PROCESS

It is your responsibility to read and follow all instructions carefully. Failure to comply with any instructions may result in rejection of your application and late fees.

North Dakota uses the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) to assist in conducting character and fitness investigations.

Steps:

- 1. Apply Online
 - Complete your application on the NCBE website.
 - Upload required documents.
 - Pay NCBE investigation fee & Board application fee (paid separately).
 - Request documents from third parties be sent to the Board of Law Examiners.
 - Encourage references, employers, schools, etc. to respond to NCBE requests.
- 2. Confirmation
 - The Board of Law Examiners will email you when your application is accepted and if more information is needed.
- 3. Follow-Up from NCBE or the Board
 - You may receive requests for more information from NCBE or the Board. Promptly respond to any requests for absent or additional documentation.
- 4. Character & Fitness Status
 - You will not receive confirmation when the investigation is done.
 - o An investigation is not final until an applicant has been recommended for admission.
- 5. Exam Eligibility
 - At least 2 weeks before the exam, you will receive confirmation of your eligibility to sit for the exam.

APPLICATION REMINDERS

Answer all questions thoroughly — including full addresses and emails.

- Use an active email for your NCBE account that's how the Board contacts you.
- Criminal history: Include all adult charges, even if expunged. Upload officer's reports, complaints
 & dispositions.
- Civil lawsuits: Upload complaints & final dispositions.
- When in doubt disclose. Transparency is key.

FEES & DEADLINES

You qualify for this section if:

- You are a current law student, AND
- Your JD degree will be awarded prior to the opening day of the February exam; OR
- Your JD degree was awarded within the past year, AND
- You have **not** filed a law student registration or an application in another jurisdiction.

RECEIVED AT BOARD OFFICE**	Exam Fee	Late Law Student Registration Fee		Total Payable to ND Board	Investigation Fee payable to NCBE
By October 1	\$200	\$400	\$0	\$600	See: NCBE fee schedule
October 2- November 1	\$200	\$400	\$150	\$750	See: NCBE fee schedule

You qualify for this section if:

- Your JD was awarded over a year ago, OR
- You applied in another jurisdiction.

RECEIVED AT BOARD OFFICE**	Exam Fee	Late Exam Fee	Total Payable to ND Board	Investigation Fee payable to NCBE
By October 1	\$200	\$0	\$200	See: NCBE fee schedule
October 2- November 1	\$200	\$150	\$350	See: NCBE fee schedule

**NO APPLICATIONS <u>RECEIVED AFTER</u> NOVEMBER 1 WILL BE ACCEPTED. Applicants concerned about timely receipt are strongly encouraged to use a reliable, trackable method of mailing.

Fees payable to NCBE and the Board <u>must be paid separately.</u> The Board accepts only check/money order (no credit cards).

Fees are non-refundable.



Step 1 - Complete Application:
Complete the <u>Application</u> online via the NCBE website. Upload all supporting documents. Pay investigation fee.
Step 2 - Mail-in Core Documents:
Mail the following documents and fees directly to the ND State Board of Law Examiners. Your application is not considered received until the following core documents are timely received at the Board's office.**
☐ This checklist, completed and checked off
Exam fee/late fee (check or money order to ND State Board of Law Examiners; follow fee schedule above)
Acknowledgment of Complete Application (The Acknowledgment is a linked document in the Completion Checklist in your NCBE Account. Select "Character & Fitness" and the application in question. In the "Actions" column, select "View Checklist".
2" x 2" recent color photo
☐ Signed Exam Petition (original)
☐ Signed <u>ND Release</u> (original)
Step 3 - Third-Party Documents Required:
Pre-legal education transcripts have been requested to be sent from the registrar directly to the Board from each institution where a degree was conferred.
☐ Law school application has been requested to be sent from the law school directly to the Board
☐ MPRE Score Report sent directly by NCBE (score of 85 or higher and received within 5 years of filing an application) to the Board:
☐ I took the MPRE on and the results were previously sent by NCBE:*
*If your MPRE score was automatically transferred to this office when you sat

*If your MPRE score was automatically transferred to this office when you sat for the MPRE exam, you don't need to re-send the score. You may contact our office to confirm your score is already on file.

I have not taken the MPRE, but intend to take it on (month/year) and will request that my score be transferred to North Dakota.
Official JD transcript stating my degree has been awarded will be requested after graduation to be sent directly from the registrar. (Due in the Board office by February 1)
Special Accommodation Request, if applicable (<i>must</i> accompany application)



AMENDMENTS

It is your responsibility to update your application during its pendency. If anything changes (address, background, employment, etc.), log into your NCBE Account and select Amend Application.

Tip: Keep a copy of your application and amendments for your records.

MAIL CORE DOCUMENTS TO:

State Board of Law Examiners Judicial Wing, 1st Floor

600 E Boulevard Ave. Bismarck, ND 58505-0530

Email: <u>barexaminers@ndcourts.gov</u>

Phone: 701-328-4201

III Updated: July 2025