FEBRUARY BAR EXAMINATION APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS/FEES/CHECKLIST

If you have submitted a North Dakota law student registration or a North Dakota bar examination application within the last three years, this is <u>not</u> the appropriate instruction sheet. Refer instead to "Third Year Law Students-Instructions/Fees/Checklist" under the Bar Exam/Bar Exam Application at:

https://www.ndcourts.gov/supreme-court/committees/board-of-lawexaminers/bar-exam-application

APPLICATION PROCESS:

Administration of the February examination is dependent on 17 or more applicants. Application fees paid will be refunded only in the event of less than 17 applicants. The character and fitness investigative fee is not refundable.

The Board of Law Examiners uses the services of the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) to assist in conducting an applicant's character and fitness investigation.

- File application with required documentation and fees. Make arrangements for outside documents to be filed with the State Board of Law Examiners (Board). Remind your references and former and present employers to promptly respond to requests from the NCBE.
- 2. Receive a confirmation letter from the Board. Sometimes a request for further information will be included in the letter. Promptly respond to any request for absent or additional documentation.
- 3. May receive correspondence directly from NCBE.
- 4. You will not receive confirmation that your character and fitness investigation is completed.
- 5. Your investigation is not finalized until after the examination.
- Applicants granted permission to write the bar examination will be advised of the date and time and furnished admission cards not less than two weeks before the examination.

REMEMBER WHEN COMPLETING YOUR APPLICATION:

<u>It is your responsibility to read and follow all instructions carefully.</u> Failure to comply with any instructions may result in return of your application and late fees.

- * Each question on the application must be answered completely. Give complete addresses, including street names and numbers, city, state, and postal zip codes.
- * Criminal matters include all adult charges whether or not they were expunged. Attach the officer's report, complaint, and disposition of charges.
- * Civil Lawsuits attach complaint and disposition documents.
- * Be honest. If in doubt about answering a question, err on the side of providing the information to the Board.

BAR EXAM FEE SCHEDULE & DEADLINES

If you are a current law student and will be awarded your Juris Doctor degree prior to the opening day of the February exam, or your Juris Doctor degree was awarded not more than one year ago, <u>and</u> you have not filed a law student registration or have not submitted an application in another state, these are the appropriate instructions.

Applications to write the February examination must be postmarked by November 1 prior to the February examination for which application is made to avoid the assessment of a late examination filing fee. **APPLICATIONS POSTMARKED AFTER DECEMBER 1 WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.** The fees payable to the NCBE and the Board of Law Examiners <u>must be paid separately.</u>

DEADLINE		FEES	PAYABLE TO:
If the application is postmarked by November 1	\$550	[\$400 late registration fee + \$150 examination fee]	State Board of Law Examiners (by check or money order, no credit cards accepted)
		AND	
	\$355	[character and fitness investigation fee]	National Conference of Bar Examiners
If the application is postmarked after November 1st and	\$650	[\$400 late registration fee + \$150 examination fee + \$100 late exam fee]	State Board of Law Examiners (by check or money order, no credit cards accepted)
i to to i i bo i i a i a	,		
on or before November 15 th		AND	
on or before	\$355	AND [character and fitness investigation fee]	National Conference of Bar Examiners

If the application is postmarked after November 15 th and on or before December	\$700	[\$400 late registration fee + \$150 examination fee + \$150 late exam fee]	State Board of Law Examiners (by check or money order, no credit cards accepted)
	\$355	[character and fitness investigation fee]	National Conference of Bar Examiners

If your Juris Doctor degree was awarded more than one year ago or if you have submitted an application in another state, these are the appropriate instructions and the following fees apply.

DEADLINE		FEES	PAYABLE TO:
If the application is postmarked by November 1	\$150	[Examination fee]	State Board of Law Examiners (by check or money order, no credit cards accepted)
	\$500*	[character and fitness investigation fee]	National Conference of Bar Examiners
If the application is postmarked after November 1st and on or before November	\$250	[\$150 Examination fee + \$100 late exam fee]	State Board of Law Examiners (by check or money order, no credit cards accepted)
15th	\$500*	[character and fitness investigation fee]	National Conference of Bar Examiners
If the application is postmarked after November 15th and on or before December	\$300	[\$150 Examination fee + \$150 late exam fee]	State Board of Law Examiners (by check or money order, no credit cards accepted)
1 st			
·	\$500*	[character and fitness investigation fee]	National Conference of Bar Examiners

^{*} If you submitted an application in a state where the NCBE completed an original investigation less than four years ago, only a supplemental investigation fee of \$225 may be required. Refer to NCBE's fee schedule to determine the fee required in that instance.

Fees paid are not refundable. [See Checklist on following page.]

CHECKLIST

All items listed below are required to be submitted to the State Board of Law Examiners as part of your bar exam application: A copy of this checklist affirmatively checking off that each item is included in your application packet or has been requested. Application. The application must be completed online at the NCBE website and The Acknowledgment page must be signed. The ORIGINAL application (single-sided) is filed with the Board of Law Examiners. NCBE release form (original) (included with the online Bar application) Fees. The fees payable to the NCBE and the Board of Law Examiners must be paid separately (according to the schedule above). The NCBE "Character and Fitness Application Payment Confirmation" form that prints out with your application must be included with the hard copy of your application. 2" x 2" recent color photograph One executed original "Exam Petition" form [Exam Petition] One executed original North Dakota release form. [ND Release] (This is in addition to the NCBE release included in the online bar application.) Official pre-legal education transcripts sent directly from the registrar of each institution where a degree was conferred have been requested. Copy of my law school application forwarded directly by the law school admission office to the Board has been requested. Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) scaled score of 85 or higher (sent directly by the NCBE) □ has been requested or □ I have not yet taken the MPRE but intend to take the exam in (month/year). MPRE scores achieved more than five years prior to receipt of an application will not be accepted. It is the applicant's sole responsibility to contact the NCBE to initiate steps for the transfer of the applicant's MPRE scores. Official legal education transcript reflecting receipt of my JD degree sent directly from the registrar of the institution attended will be requested upon my graduation. (Due in the Board office by February 1) Requests for special testing accommodations, if applicable. Request for accommodations must accompany this application and will be referred to the Board for consideration. Forms are available at: Special Accommodation Request

forms.

AMENDMENTS

It is your responsibility to update your application during its pendency. To do so, log into your <u>NCBE Account</u> and select Amend Application.

Retain a copy of your application for your records as requests for a copy will involve a copying charge.

Mail completed application packet to:

State Board of Law Examiners Judicial Wing, 1st Fl. 600 E Boulevard Ave. Bismarck, ND 58505-0530

Revised 09/2021