North Dakota Judicial Conference

June 16, 2011 Ramada Plaza Suites Fargo, ND

Chair M. Richard Geiger called the business meeting of the Judicial Conference to order at 1:45 p.m. on June 16, 2011. Sally Holewa, State Court Administrator, called the roll:

| | Judges of Supreme Court | |
|-----------------------|---------------------------|-----------------------|
| Gerald W. VandeWalle | Mary Muehlen Maring | Carol Ronning Kapsner |
| Dale V. Sandstrom | | Daniel J. Crothers |
| | Judges of District Court | |
| Donovan Foughty | Frank L. Racek | Gail Hagerty |
| Lee A. Christofferson | Wickham Corwin | Sonna M. Anderson |
| M. Richard Geiger | Douglas R. Herman | David E. Reich |
| Michael G. Sturdevant | John C. Irby | William A. Herauf |
| Sonja Clapp | Steven L. Marquart | H. Patrick Weir |
| Joel D. Medd | Wade L. Webb | William W. McLees |
| | John T. Paulson | Todd Cresap |
| | John E. Greenwood | Gary H. Lee |
| | James D. Hovey | Douglas L. Mattson |
| | Thomas E. Merrick | - |
| | Jay A. Schmitz | |
| | Judges of Municipal Court | |
| Robert A. Keogh | budges of framelpar court | DeNae C.H. Kautzmann |
| | Surrogate Judges | |
| | William F. Hodny | |
| | Members of the Bar | |
| Steven J. Lies | | Sherry Mills Moore |

A quorum was declared and the business meeting proceeded.

Judge Marquart made a motion to approve the minutes of the November 22, 2010 meeting. The motion carried and the minutes were approved.

Chair Geiger called for the report of the Committee on Legislation. Judge Sonna Anderson, chair of the Committee on Legislation, reported that the committee had no unfinished or new business at this time.

Chair Geiger then opened the floor for nominations for the Chair-Elect of the Judicial Conference. Judge Weir nominated Judge Steven McCullough. The nomination was seconded North Dakota Judicial Conference June 16, 2011 Page 2

by Justice Maring. No other nominations were received. Justice Crothers moved that the nominations be closed and a unanimous ballot be cast for Judge McCullough. The motion carried and Judge McCullough was elected as the new Chair-Elect.

Chair Geiger than passed the gavel to Justice Carol Kapsner as the new Chair of the Judicial Conference. Justice Kapsner's first order of business as Chair was to present Judge Geiger with a plaque to recognize his service as Chair of the Judicial Conference.

There being no further business, the meeting was ended at 2:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sally Holewa State Court Administrator Executive Secretary to the Judicial Conference