Service Information for Starting a Case to Establish an Adult Guardianship for a Child Who is 17 Years and 6 Months Old

Important! Read Before Using These Forms & Instructions!

ND Legal Self Help Center staff and court employees <u>can't</u> help you fill out the form(s). If you're unsure if these forms and instructions suit your circumstances, consult a lawyer.

ND Legal Self Help Center forms aren't official court forms and judges and courts aren't required to accept them. There's no guarantee Center forms will be accepted.

If you need legal advice or legal representation, consult a lawyer licensed to practice in North Dakota. Go to ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer to learn more about finding a lawyer to represent you.

When you represent yourself, you're expected to know and follow the law, including:

- State or federal laws that apply to your case;
- Case law, also called court opinions, that applies to your case; and
- Court rules that apply to your case, which may include:
 - North Dakota Rules of Civil Procedure;
 - North Dakota Rules of Court;
 - North Dakota Rules of Evidence;
 - North Dakota Administrative Rules and Orders; and
 - Any local court rules.

Links to the state laws, case law, and court rules can be found at ndcourts.gov.

A glossary with definitions of legal terms is available at ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help.

When you represent yourself, you're held to the same requirements and responsibilities as a lawyer, even if you don't understand the rules or procedures.

These instructions and forms <u>aren't</u> a complete statement of the law. They cover basic procedure for service to start a case in a North Dakota state district court to establish an adult guardianship for a child who is at least 17 years and 6 months old. There's no guarantee that all judges and courts will accept forms available through the ND Legal Self Help Center. The Center isn't responsible for any consequences that may result from the forms or information provided.

Use these forms and instructions at your own risk.

Warning! Appointment of a guardian can have serious legal and financial consequences for both the Ward <u>and</u> the guardian(s). It's strongly recommended that you consult a lawyer and carefully consider all of your options before you represent yourself in a petition to appoint a guardian for an alleged child becoming incapacitated adult in a North Dakota state district court.

The notice of hearing and statement of rights and a copy of the guardianship petition must be served on all persons listed in <u>Section 30.1-28-09</u> of the North Dakota Century Code.

The petitioner **must** arrange for service of copies of the following documents:

- Notice of Hearing and Statement of Rights;
- Petition for Appointment of a Guardian;
- Completed and signed Order Appointing Guardian ad Litem;
- Completed and signed Order Appointing Visitor; and
- Completed and signed Order Appointing Expert Examiner

on the following persons listed in <u>Section 30.1-28-09</u> of the North Dakota Century Code:

- The child;
- The child 's parents;
- Any person, corporation, or institution who is serving as the child 's guardian, representative payee for public benefits, or conservator, or who has the child 's care and custody;
- If the child **doesn't have** parents, then the child's adult siblings and any adult with whom the child resides in a private residence, or if none can be found, any known adult relative;
- The attorney for the child, if any; and
- The visitor, and the expert examiner.

The petitioner is responsible for ensuring the documents are served as required by Section 30.1-03-01 and Section 30.1-28-09 of the North Dakota Century Code.

Proof of service tells the North Dakota state district court how, when and where the documents were served.

If proof of service isn't filed, the court won't act on the guardianship petition.

Proof of service is an important step in the legal process. If proof of service isn't filed, the court won't act on your documents.

Proof of service to start an adult guardianship of an alleged child becoming an incapacitated person tells the judge or judicial referee assigned to the case when, how, and where the people listed on Page 2 were served copies of the required documents.

- A certificate of service gives the judge or judicial referee proof of service when a sheriff or other officer served a copy of the documents listed on Page 2.
- A declaration of service or affidavit of service gives the judge or judicial referee proof of service when a person other than a sheriff or other officer served copy of the documents listed on Page 2.

The Petitioner must locate the addresses or locations for service.

Following are examples of ways to find people for service:

- Last known address.
 - Contact the U.S. Post Office for information on how to determine if the person left a forwarding address.
- Friends, family, employers.
- Online search engines.
- Government entities, such as Department of Motor Vehicles or County Recorder.
- North Dakota business entity search, available at the ND Secretary of State website.
- Social Security Death Index.
- Utility companies.
- Social networking websites.
- Reverse directories.
 - A reverse directory allows someone to search by phone number to find an address. (Your local library may have access to reverse directories.)

There are three ways to serve the documents.

1. Serve to the Child and Parents by Personal Service:

The child must be personally served at least 14 days before the hearing.

If the child's parents are found within North Dakota, they must also be personally served at least 14 days before the hearing.

You, the petitioner, **can't personally serve the document yourself**. You arrange for personal service as follows:

- The person who personally serves a copy of the documents listed on Page 2 must be at least 18 years old **and** not a party to the petition or an interested party.
- The person who serves a copy of the documents listed on Page 2 must complete a Declaration of Service by Personal Delivery. This is your proof of service.
 - If the Sheriff personally serves the documents, the Sheriff provides a completed certificate of service.
- Make a copy of each declaration or certificate for your records.
- You file the original declaration(s) of service or certificate(s) of service with the clerk of court.

2. Serve by Mail:

If the child's parents can't be found within North Dakota they may be served by mail.

All other persons listed in N.D.C.C. § 30.1-28-09 may be served by mail. See N.D.C.C. § 30.1-03-01.

Service by mail must occur at least 14 days before the hearing.

You, the petitioner, arrange for service by mail as follows:

- The person who mails a copy of the documents listed on Page 2 must be at least 18 years old.
- The copy of the documents listed on Page 2 must be sent by certified or ordinary firstclass mail addressed to the person's office or place of residence.
- The person who mails a copy of the documents listed on Page 2 must complete a declaration of service by mail. This is your proof of service.

- Make a copy of each declaration of service by mail for your records.
- You file the original declaration(s) of service with the clerk of court.

3. Service by Publication:

If, after a diligent search, you're unable to determine the address or identity of any of the other persons listed in N.D.C.C. § 30.1-28-09, **except the child**, you may give notice of the hearing by publication. See N.D.C.C. § 30.1-03-01 and Rule 4(e) of the North Dakota Rules of Civil Procedure.

The notice must be published at least once a week for three consecutive weeks.

The last publication of the notice must occur at least 10 days before the hearing:

- Publish the Notice of Hearing and Statement of Rights in a newspaper having general circulation in the North Dakota county where the hearing is scheduled to be held.
- The notice must be published at least once a week for three consecutive weeks.
- You, the petitioner, must request an affidavit of publication from the newspaper after publishing is complete. This is your proof of publication of the notice.
- You, the petitioner, must prepare a declaration for service by publication. The purpose of the declaration for service by publication is to describe to the court the diligent efforts you made to locate the person(s).
- Make a copy of the affidavit of publication you received from the newspaper and your declaration for service by publication for your records.
- You file the original declaration for service by publication and the affidavit of publication with the clerk of court.

STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA COUNTY OF		IN DISTRICT COURTJUDICIAL DISTRICT
	IN THE MATTER	OF THE GUARDIANSHIP OF
	JING AN INCAPACITATED INDIVIDUAL.	
	Case No.	
		ERVICE BY PERSONAL DELIVERY is required for each person served.)
The	person personally serving court docu	ments states:
1.	My name is	(name of person who
pers	conally served documents). I am at leas	et 18 years of age. I am <u>not</u> a party <u>or</u> interested in
the	above named matter.	
2.	List of Court Documents Served:	
	Notice of Hearing and Statement	nt of Rights;
	 Petition for Appointment of Gu 	ardian;
	Order Appointing Guardian ad	Litem;
	 Order Appointing Visitor; and 	
	 Order Appointing Expert Exami 	ner.
3.	Personal Service (Paragraph 3 con	tinues on next page):
	I served a true and correct copy of	each of the court documents listed in Paragraph 2 to
		(name of person served) by:
(cho	oose one)	
□ G	Siving the court documents directly to	him/her.
☐ L	eaving the court documents with:	(name),
а	person of suitable age and discretion v	who lives at the same address.

I knov	v the person I served	I is the person inte	nded to be serv	ed because (<i>ex</i>	olain how you
identified the person):					
4.	Date, Time, and Ad	ddress of Personal	Service:		
Date:			_ Time:	 a.m	. (<i>or</i>) 🗖 p.m.
Addre	ess:				
(stree	t address)			(city)	(zip code)
5.	I declare, under pe	nalty of perjury un	der the law of I	North Dakota, tl	nat everything I
stated	d in this Declaration o	of Service by Perso	nal Delivery is t	rue and correct	
	Signed on		(<i>date</i>) in _		(city),
		County,	(state),		(country).
		Circuit			
		Signatui	re		
		Printed	Name		
		Address	;		
		City, Sta	ite, Zip Code		
		Telepho	ne Number		
		Email A	ddress		

STAT	TE OF NORTH DAKOTA	IN DISTRICT COURT		
COUNTY OF		JUDICIAL DISTRIC		
	IN THE MATTE	R OF THE GUARDIANSHIP OF		
	AN ALLEGED CHILD BECO	MING AN INCAPACITATED INDIVIDUAL.		
	Case No			
		ON OF SERVICE BY MAIL ONLY IF envelopes are mailed the same day.)		
The	person serving court documents by	mail states:		
1.	My name is	(name of person wh		
maile	led documents). I am at least 18 years	of age.		
2.	List of Court Documents Served:			
	Notice of Hearing and Statement	ent of Rights;		
	• Petition for Appointment of G	uardian;		
	Order Appointing Guardian ad	Litem;		
	Order Appointing Visitor; and			
	Order Appointing Expert Exam	iner.		
3.	Service by Mail:			
	I served a true and correct copy or	f each of the court documents listed in Paragraph 2 b		
maili	ing them, enclosed in an envelope, b	y \square Certified Mail (<i>OR</i>) \square First-Class mail, postage		
prep	paid, and by depositing them in the U	nited States Mail, directed to each person listed in		
Para	graph 5.			
4.	Date of Service by Mail:			
Data	Court Documents Ware Served by N	4-:1.		

 stated 	Person or Persons Served by Mail:					
	1. Name of Persor	Name of Person Served:				
	Mailing Address:					
	2. Name of Person Served: Mailing Address:					
						City, State, Zip (
	3. Name of Person Served:					
	Mailing Address:					
	City, State, Zip Code:					
	4. Name of Person Served:					
	City, State, Zip Code:					
	ed in this Declaration o		der the law of North Dakota	a, triat everytriing i		
		Signed on		(<i>date</i>) in	(city),	
		County,	(state),	(country).		
	Signature					
		Printed Name				
		Address	Address			
		City, Sta	City, State, Zip Code			
		Telepho	Telephone Number			
	Email Address					

5.

STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA	IN DISTRICT COURT			
COUNTY OF	JUDICIAL DISTRICT			
IN THE M	NATTER OF THE GUARDIANSHIP OF			
AN ALLEGED CHILD BECOMING AN INCAPACITATED INDIVIDUAL. Case No				
l,	(name of petitioner),			
the undersigned, state as follows:				
1. I am the Petitioner in the ab	pove entitled action.			
2. I make this Declaration for S	Service by Publication in support of service of the Notice of			
Hearing and Statement of Rights up	oon the following person(s) (list full name(s) of each person) _			
by publication pursuant to Section	30.1-03-01 of the North Dakota Century Code (N.D.C.C.) and			
Rule 4(e) of the North Dakota Rules	s of Civil Procedure.			
3. Pursuant to N.D.C.C. Section	n 30.1-03-01(1)(c), service of the Notice of Hearing and			
Statement of Rights by publication	is permitted because the address or identity of the person(s)			
listed in Paragraph 2 of this Declara	ation is not known and cannot be ascertained with			
reasonable diligence.				

4. I made the following diligent efforts to identify and locate the person(s) listed in Paragraph 2 of this Declaration in order to serve the Notice of Hearing and Statement of Rights (describe your diligent efforts for each person):

5. I made the following attempts to serve the person(s) listed in Paragraph 2 of this

Declaration (list the attempts to serve for each person, be specific with details, including dates

and results, if you have documentation, include when you file the declaration):

6. I state that after making diligent efforts, service of the Notice of Hearing and Statement of Rights cannot be made by personal delivery or by mail on the person(s) listed in Paragraph 2 to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief; 7. I declare, under penalty of perjury under the law of North Dakota, that the information contained in this Declaration for Service by Publication, is true and correct. Signed on ______ (*date*) in _____ (*city*), ______ County, _____ (state), ______ (country). Signature Printed Name Address City, State, Zip Code Telephone Number

Email Address