## **DEFENDANT'S ANSWER/COUNTER CLAIM**

(See Instructions on Reverse Side)

	, Plaintiff(s)	CASE NO	
VS.			
	, Defendant(s)		_ County, North Dakota
	DEFENDANT'S ANS	WER	
This form is to be used to notify the Small C Initial the statement below that applies to yo		ND TO CONTEST the Plaintiff's	Claim.
1 I do not owe the Plaintiff a	any part of what is claimed, for re	easons stated below.	
2 I owe the Plaintiff only pa	rt of what is claimed, as explaine	ed below.	
3 I owe the Plaintiff what is	claimed.		
		(Attach additi	onal sheet if necessary.)
**********	***********	**********	*********
	COUNTERCLAIN (May not exceed \$15)		
If you think you have a claim of your own ag same time. If that is the situation, fill in the		ent your claim as part of this case	and have it decided at the
PLAINTIFF OWES ME (briefly describe yo	our claim and state your reasons)	:	
A COUNTERCLAIM must be filed and del hours before the hearing.	ivered, or mailed by Restricted I	Delivery, Return Receipt, to the	Plaintiff not later than 48
I declare under penalty of perjury that the fo	regoing is true and correct. Dated	d thisday of	20
County, North Da	lkota	1 4 6:	
	Defe	endant's Signature	

RETURN TO CLERK OF DISTRICT COURT FOR FILING

A counterclaim must be filed and served upon the plaintiff not later than 48 hours before the hearing.

## Form 4 – Instructions to the Person Being Sued in Small Claims Court

## You have the following Five Options:

- 1. You may pay this claim by contacting the Plaintiff immediately and making arrangements for payment.
- 2. You may defend yourself in Small Claims Court by indicating on the Defendant's Form 3 "Request for Hearing" that you're requesting a hearing. You must return the form to the Clerk of District Court within 20 days of receipt of the Claim Affidavit. You may appear on the date set for hearing without a written answer.
- **3.** You may have the case moved to District Court.
  - (See the advantages and disadvantages of Small Claims Court on Form 1).
  - If the claim isn't filed in the North Dakota county of residence, you may have the case moved to the Small Claims Court in your North Dakota county of residence. Note: The case can't be moved to your North Dakota county of residence if certain matters are involved. See Form 1 "Where a claim is filed".
  - To move a case to district court, you must file the Form 3 "Removal to Court" and serve a copy of Form 3 on the Plaintiff. You must also file a copy of the Claim Affidavit and your answer to the claim (this Form 4) with the Clerk of Court to which the case is removed, and you must pay an \$80 filing fee (on July 1, 2025, the filing fee is \$160), unless the fee is waived by the court.
- 4. You may also defend yourself fin Small Claims Court in writing by filing the Defendant's Answer (on the reverse side of this form) with the Clerk of the Small Claims Court and serving it on the Plaintiff at least 48 hours before the hearing.
  Instructions for serving the Plaintiff are on the back of Form 5.
- 5. You may file a Counterclaim (on the reverse side of this form) against the Plaintiff if you believe they owe you money arising out of the same transaction for which you're being sued.
  - To file a Counterclaim, fill out the appropriate section of this form, file it with the Clerk of Small Claims Court, **and** serve it on the Plaintiff **at least 48 hours** before the date set for hearing.
  - Instructions for serving the Plaintiff are on the back of Form 5.

Note: The Counterclaim can't exceed \$15,000 in Small Claims Court. A Counterclaim for more money must be filed in District Court.

## How to calculate the Defendant's 20 day deadline:

- Count 20 days from the date you, the Defendant, received the Claim Affidavit from the sheriff, process server, or other individual; or
  - Count **20** days from the date you, the Defendant, signed the green return receipt.
- 2. Count every day, including Saturdays, Sundays and North Dakota state holidays;
  - Include the last day of the deadline, but if the last day falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or North Dakota state holiday, the deadline continues to run until the end of the next day that **isn't** a Saturday, Sunday, or North Dakota state holiday.
    - For example, if the last day of the deadline lands on a Sunday, the deadline extends until the end of the next day, which is Monday.

Important: If you don't request a hearing, or if you request a hearing and don't come to the court at the place, time and date specified, the Small Claims Court may order a default judgment against you.