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Request for Certified Copy of Adoption Decree 

A certified copy of an adoption decree can be obtained under North Dakota Century Code 
section 14-15-16(6) from the clerk of court in the district where the adoption occurred. 

You need to pay a $20.00 fee for the certified copy. 

Only the following person(s) may request a certified copy of the adoption decree: 

• The adoptive parents; 
• The guardian of an adopted minor child; or 
• An adopted adult. 

Please Note:  A certified copy of an adoption decree can only be provided without a court 

order if the adoption decree doesn’t disclose the identity of the genetic parents or the name 
of the adopted individual before the adoption occurred. 

Fill Out the Request for Certified Copy of Adoption Decree 

Paragraph 1: Fill in your complete name, address, phone number, and email address. 

• The Clerk may request identification, so make sure to bring identification with you. 

Paragraph 2: Put a checkmark () on the correct line which identifies who you are. 

• If you can’t check any of the lines, you can’t request a certified copy of an adoption 

decree without a court order. 

Paragraph 3: Fill in all requested information for a, b, and c. 

Date and Signature: Date and sign the request. 

• Fill in the date, city, county, and state when/where you sign this request. 
 

• Sign the request.  
 

Submit the Request to the Clerk of Court 

You’ll be charged a $20.00 fee. Contact the clerk of court for more information. 

If you don’t meet the requirements for this request, consult a lawyer for other options. 
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Request for Certified Copy of Adoption Decree 
Section 14-15-16(6) NDCC* 

*If you are requesting a certified copy of a birth certificate, you must contact North Dakota 
Vital Records. 

* Please note that a certified copy of an adoption decree can only be provided without a 

court order if the adoption decree doesn’t contain any identifying information.  

1. Party Requesting Information (you may be asked for identification): 

Name:       ______________________________________________ 

Address:    ______________________________________________     

       ______________________________________________ 

        ______________________________________________ 

Phone Number: __________________________________________  

Email Address:    __________________________________________    

2. Are you: _____the adoptive parent 

                            _____the guardian of an adopted minor child 

  _____an adopted adult 

3. Information needed to locate file: 

a. Adopted party name:  _____________________________________ 

b. Case number and/or date of adoption: ________________________ 

c. County of adoption:  _______________________________________ 

I declare, under penalty of perjury under the laws of North Dakota, that everything I 

have stated in this Request for Certified Copy of Adoption Decree is true and correct.  

 Signed on _____________________(date) in ______________________________(city), 

__________________________County, ______(state), _________________________(country). 

      __________________________________________ 
      Signature 
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