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Instructions for Motion for Default Divorce Judgment 

Important! Read Before Using this Packet of Forms. 

ND Legal Self Help staff and court employees can’t help you fill out the form(s). If you’re 
unsure if these forms and instructions suit your circumstances, consult a lawyer. 

ND Legal Self Help Center forms aren’t official court forms. Judges and courts aren’t 
required to accept them. There’s no guarantee Center forms will be accepted. Use these 
instructions and forms at your own risk. 

If you need legal advice or legal representation, consult a lawyer licensed to practice in 
North Dakota. Go to ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer for information about 
finding a lawyer to represent you. 

When you represent yourself, you’re expected to know and follow the law, including: 

• State or federal laws that apply to your case, which include, 
o Chapter 14-05 of the North Dakota Century Code governing divorce; 
o Chapter 14-09 of the North Dakota Century Code governing custody, visitation, 

and child support; and 
o Chapter 14-14.1 of the North Dakota Century Code governing jurisdiction; 

• Case law, also called court opinions, that applies to your case; and 
• Court rules that apply to your case, which may include: 

o North Dakota Rules of Civil Procedure – specifically Rule 55 – Default judgments; 
o North Dakota Rules of Court – specifically Rule 3.2 – Motions; 
o North Dakota Rules of Evidence; 
o North Dakota Administrative Rules and Orders; and 
o Any local court rules. 

Links to the state laws, case law, and court rules are available at ndcourts.gov. 

A glossary with definitions of legal terms is available at ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help. 

When you represent yourself, you’re held to the same requirements and 
responsibilities as a lawyer, even if you don’t understand the rules or procedures. 

These instructions and forms aren’t a complete statement of the law. They cover the basic 
procedure for making a motion for a default divorce judgment in a North Dakota State District 

Court. The Center isn’t responsible for any consequences that may result from the forms or 
information provided. Use these forms and instructions at your own risk. 

Divorce can have serious long-term legal and financial consequences. Carefully 
consider all of your options before you represent yourself. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c05.html
https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c09.html
https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c14-1.html
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-resources/rules/ndrcivp/55
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-resources/rules/ndrct/3-2
http://www.ndcourts.gov/
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help
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You May Use This Packet of Forms Only if All of the Following 
Statements are True. 

1. Service of the Summons and Complaint on the Defendant was completed and you 
have proof of service. 

2. The 21 day deadline for the Defendant to answer the Summons and Complaint has 
passed and the Defendant didn’t respond in writing. 

3. You, the Plaintiff, have lived in North Dakota for the last six months. (North Dakota’s  
residency requirement for divorce.) 

4. If there are minor children of the marriage, all of the children have lived in North 
Dakota with you or the Defendant for at least the past 6 months (or since birth); 
*Or* Within the past 6 months, North Dakota was the home state of all of the 
children And you or the Defendant still live in North Dakota. 

5. This is the only legal action in North Dakota, or any other state, between you and 
Defendant regarding your marriage or your minor children. 

6. The reason for your divorce is irreconcilable differences (no-fault by either spouse). 
7. Neither you nor your spouse are currently in the military; *Or* one or both spouses 

are currently in the military but not deploying or deployed. 

Instructions for this packet of forms begins on Page 7. 

What is a Motion for Default Divorce Judgment? 

Service of the Summons and Complaint for Divorce Starts the Divorce Case: 

The spouse who starts the divorce is called the Plaintiff. The Plaintiff starts the divorce by 
arranging for a divorce Summons and Complaint to be served on the other spouse, called the 
Defendant. 

The Defendant has 21 days after the date they were served to answer the Summons and 
Complaint in writing. 

You, The Plaintiff, May Ask for a Default Divorce Judgment if the Defendant 
Doesn’t Answer the Summons and Complaint in Writing: 

If the Defendant doesn’t answer the divorce Summons and Complaint within 21 days after 
service, you may ask the judge, in writing, to grant the divorce without the Defendant’s 
involvement. 
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The request is called a Motion for a Default Divorce Judgment. A judge may grant a default 
divorce judgment if the Plaintiff proves the following, in writing: 

1. Proof of service of the divorce Summons and Complaint on the Defendant; 

2. The 21 day deadline for the Defendant to answer the divorce Summons and Complaint 
has passed and the Defendant didn’t respond in writing; 

3. The North Dakota District Court has the authority (jurisdiction) to grant a divorce; and 

4. You provided all other necessary information and proof to the District Court judge. 

Effect of a Default Divorce Judgment: 

If the District Court judge grants a default divorce judgment, the Judgment has the same effect 
as a divorce judgment. 

However, at a later date the Defendant may make a written motion to the judge to re-open the 
default divorce judgment. If Defendant makes the written motion, the judge decides whether 
to re-open the default divorce judgment, or keep the default divorce judgment in place. 

Protections for Active Military Service Members Against Default Judgments: 

Under Federal law, active duty service members have protections against default judgments. 

Before a North Dakota state district court judge or judicial referee may grant a Motion for 
Default Divorce Judgment, you must prove that the Defendant isn’t on active duty with any 
branch of the United States military. 

You must attempt to find out if the Defendant is an active duty service member and include the 
steps you took and the outcome in the Motion for Default Divorce Judgment documents. 

The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA) Website may be of interest. 

If the judge can’t tell whether the Defendant is in active military service from the forms you file, 
before granting a default divorce judgment, the judge may require you to file a bond. The judge 
decides the dollar amount of the bond. If the Defendant is later found to be in active military 
service, the bond is used to compensate the Defendant against loss or damage resulting from 
the default divorce judgment. 

 

 

 

https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/scra/#/home


NDLSHC: Default Divorce  Page 4 of 19 Motion Default Divorce Inst/Aug 2025 

How to Calculate the 21 Day Deadline to Answer 

The Start of the 21 Day Deadline Depends on the Date the Defendant was 
Served: 

Review Rule 4 of the North Dakota Rules of Civil Procedure for more information about service. 

• Personal Service by Sheriff or Person 18 Years or Older and Not Interested in the Case: 
If you arranged to have your spouse, the Defendant, served the Summons and 
Complaint by a sheriff or other non-interested adult, the Defendant is served on the 
date they were given the Summons and Complaint. 

• Service by Certified Mail, Return Receipt Requested (Restricted Delivery): If you 
arranged to have your spouse, the Defendant, served the Summons and Complaint by 
certified mail, return receipt requested, the Defendant is served on the date the green 
card receipt shows actual delivery. 

• Service by Publication in the Newspaper: If you arranged to have your spouse, the 
Defendant, served the Summons by publication, the Defendant is served 15 days after 
the first date the Summons was published in the newspaper. 

Remember, you must have proof of service of the Summons and Complaint on your spouse, the 
Defendant. 

The judge assigned to your divorce case won’t consider your motion for a default divorce 
judgment without proof of service. 

Count Forward 21 Days Starting the Day After the Defendant was Served: 

The Defendant’s 21 day deadline to answer is calculated in calendar days. This means you 
count weekdays, Saturdays, Sundays, and North Dakota state holidays. 

1. On your calendar, go to the date the Defendant was served. 

2. Starting with the day after the date the Defendant was served, count ahead 21 calendar 
days. 

3. If the 21st calendar day lands on a Saturday, Sunday, or North Dakota state holiday, 
move ahead to the next calendar day that isn’t a Saturday, Sunday, or North Dakota 
state holiday. 

 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-resources/rules/ndrcivp/4
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Parties in a Motion for Default Divorce Judgment 

Plaintiff: You, the spouse who started the divorce action with service of the Summons and 
Complaint on the other spouse. 

Defendant: The spouse who was served the Summons and Complaint for divorce.  

Moving Party: You, the Plaintiff bringing the Motion for Default Divorce Judgment.  

Opposing Party: The Defendant. (Also called the Non-moving party.)  

Real Party in Interest – (Also known as the Statutory Real Party in Interest.) The State of North 
Dakota is added as a real party in interest to divorce actions only when:  

• Child support will be established or modified, and a minor child receives assistance 
through programs administered by the North Dakota Department of Health and Human 
Services, such as temporary assistance to needy families, Medicaid, and foster care; 

• Child support will be established or modified, and an application was made and 
accepted for services provided by the Child Support Division of the North Dakota 
Department of Human Services; or  

• Child support or spousal support will be established or modified and North Dakota or 
the Child Support Division of the North Dakota Department of Human Services is 
required to be involved in proceedings related to support orders of other states or 
countries under the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act. 

Forms Suitable for Uncomplicated Divorces Only 

This packet of forms is only for divorces involving common and uncomplicated circumstances. 

If this packet of forms doesn’t work for you, Stop! You can’t use this packet of forms. Go to 
ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/divorce for all other divorce forms and resources available through 
the ND Legal Self Help Center, or retain a lawyer to create the documents for you. 

 

(This space left intentionally blank.) 

 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/divorce
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Forms for Filing the Motion for Default Divorce 

For divorces (With Children), the following forms are required:  

Each individual form has instructions attached. 

• MP1: Notice of Motion for Default Divorce Judgment; 
• MP2: Motion for Default Divorce Judgment; 
• MP3: Brief in Support of Default Divorce Judgment;  
• MP4: Declaration of Default, Identification and Active Military Status; 
• MP5a: Declaration of Proof for Default Divorce Judgment (With Children); 
• MP6a: Proposed Findings of fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order for Default Divorce 

Judgment (With Children); 
• MP7a: Proposed Judgment (With Children);  
• MP8: Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property & Debts & Values 

o Summary Real Estate Disposition Judgment (if needed); 
• MP9: Exhibit B: Parenting Plan; 
• MP10a: Confidential Information Form (With Children); 
• MP11a: Declaration of Service by Mail. 

For divorces (No Children), the following forms are required:  

Each individual form has instructions attached. 

• MP1: Notice of Motion for Default Divorce Judgment; 
• MP2: Motion for Default Divorce Judgment; 
• MP3: Brief in Support of Default Divorce Judgment; 
• MP4: Declaration of Default, Identification and Active Military Status; 
• MP5b: Declaration of Proof for Default Divorce Judgment (No Children); 
• MP6b: Proposed Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order for Default Divorce 

Judgment (No Children); 
• MP7b: Proposed Judgment (No Children); 
• MP8: Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property & Debts & Values; 

o Summary Real Estate Disposition Judgment (if needed); 
• MP10b: Confidential Information Form (No Children); 
• MP11b: Declaration of Service by Mail.  
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All Forms Must be Filled out Completely!! 

Don’t leave any of the paragraphs within the forms unanswered. 

If a section of the form doesn’t apply to you, type or write “N/A” or “Not Applicable.” Type or 
write $0.00 if a dollar amount doesn’t apply to you. 

If a form isn’t completely filled out, the clerk may not accept your forms for filing, or the court 
may send your forms back to you to complete. It could also mean the judge requires you to 
attend a hearing to explain why you left blanks in the forms.  

Follow and Carefully Read All Instructions! In the instructions for each form there are 
checkboxes () before each step. Check each box as you finish the step. Don’t go to the next 
step until the previous step is completed. 

Step One 
File the Divorce Summons, Complaint, and Proof of 
Service with the Clerk of Court 

(Find information about how to start a divorce at ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/divorce.) 

 The District Court Can’t consider your Motion for Default Divorce Judgment Until the 
following original, completed documents are filed with the Clerk of District Court: 

• Summons; 
• Complaint; and 
• Proof of service of the Summons and Complaint on the Defendant. 

You’re required to pay a $160.00 filing fee. 

However, you may ask the court to waive the $160.00 filing fee. 

Forms to request the court waive the filing fee are available at ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/fee-
waiver. Fee waivers are based on inability to pay. The completed fee waiver request forms are 
filed at the same time as the Summons and Complaint. 

If the Clerk of District Court accepts your documents for filing, a case number is assigned. 

 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/divorce
http://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/fee-waiver
http://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/fee-waiver
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Step Two 
Review All Forms and Instructions; Gather 
Information and Make Decisions 

  Review All of the forms and instructions in this packet of forms: 

Read these instructions carefully. Review All of the individual forms and their instructions 
carefully. Decide if the forms apply to your situation. If you don’t know if you should use this 
packet of forms, consult a lawyer licensed to practice in North Dakota. 

 Gather Information and Make Decisions: 

You must gather information to help you make decisions about the following decisions related 
to divorce: 

• Dividing marital property and debts. 
o Make a list of all assets and debts, including the value of each asset and amount of 

each debt. 

If you have minor children of the marriage, you must gather information to help you make the 
following decisions about the children: 

• Residential responsibility of the minor child(ren). (Also called custody.) 
• Parenting time, including scheduling. (Also called visitation.) 
• Decision making responsibility for the minor child(ren). 
• Child support, including wages and other earnings information. 
• Medical coverage, including health insurance premiums, copays, deductibles, etc. 

 If there are minor children of the marriage, complete your child support calculations. If 
there are no minor children, skip this instruction: 

If you already have a Child Support Order, get a copy of the Order to include with your 
completed packet of forms. You don’t need new child support calculations. 

If you don’t already have a Child Support Order, you need to complete your child support 

calculations. If you don’t want to establish child support at this time, Stop! You can’t use this 
packet of forms. 

Warning: If you attempt to file this packet of forms without completing the child support 
calculations, the judge will either require you to complete the calculations before making a 
decision on your divorce case, or dismiss your divorce case entirely. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
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The Child Support Division of the North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services 
created and provides support for the Child Support Guidelines Calculator. 

Go to childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/partners/lawyers/child-support-guidelines.  

If the parents will have equal residential responsibility, you must calculate child support 
amounts for both parents. 

If one parent will have primary residential responsibility (more than 50% of the residential 
responsibility), you must calculate the child support amount for the parent with less than 50% 
of the residential responsibility. 

Warning: If you plan to ask the judge to allow a parent to pay a different amount of child 
support than the Child Support Guidelines Calculator amount, consult a lawyer for help. The 
Calculator amount is presumed to be the correct amount of child support. The parent asking for 
a different amount then the Calculator amount must prove they meet one of the limited 
exceptions for deviation, and the deviation is in the best interests of the child(ren). See North 
Dakota Century Code Section 14-09-09.7 and North Dakota Administrative Code Section 75-02-
04.1-09. 

Court personnel and staff of the ND Legal Self Help Center Can’t help you with your child 
support calculations. 

You may be able to apply for services with North Dakota Child Support (701-328-5440; 800-231-
4255). If your application for full services is approved by North Dakota Child Support, they can 
help to establish an order for child support and medical support in a separate child support 
case. 

Step Three 
You, the Plaintiff, Complete the Forms in the 
Motion for Default Divorce Judgment Packet of 
Forms 

You, the Plaintiff (also called the Moving Party) are required to complete all Motion for 
Default Divorce Judgment forms. 

Instruction sheets are provided with each Motion for Default Divorce Judgment form 
mentioned below. The forms are described on Pages 10 through 13: 

https://www.childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/partners/lawyers/child-support-guidelines
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c09.pdf#nameddest=14-09-09p7
https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t14c09.pdf#nameddest=14-09-09p7
https://ndlegis.gov/information/acdata/pdf/75-02-04.1.pdf
https://ndlegis.gov/information/acdata/pdf/75-02-04.1.pdf
https://www.childsupport.dhs.nd.gov/
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Divorce With Children Forms (use if there are minor children of the marriage) 

Form Title Description 

Form MP1: Notice of 
Motion for Default 
Divorce Judgment 

A required written advisory that tells the Defendant that you, the 
Plaintiff, request a default divorce judgment from the Court. The 
Notice of Motion tells the Defendant that the motion will be 
decided on the documents alone. 

Form MP2: Motion for 
Default Divorce 
Judgment 

A written request to the court for a default divorce judgment. 

 

Form MP3: Brief in 
Support of Motion for 
Default Divorce 
Judgment 

A written explanation of why you, the Plaintiff, should have your 
Motion granted. The Brief takes the rules and laws that support 
your Motion and explains how they apply to the facts of your 
particular situation. 

Form MP4: Declaration 
of Default, Identification 
and Active Military 
Status 

Your, the Plaintiff’s, written statement of the Defendant’s 
default, your address and employer, the Defendant’s address 
and employer, and the Defendant’s military status. 

Form MP5a: Declaration 
of Proof for Default 
Divorce Judgment (With 
Children) 

Your, the Plaintiff’s, written statement of the jurisdictional and 
factual matters in the divorce complaint, including the factual 
basis for the grounds of the divorce. 

 

Form MP6a: Proposed 
Findings of Fact, 
Conclusions of Law and 
Order for Default Divorce 
Judgment (With 
Children) 

Findings of Fact are the judge’s written determination of the 
facts made from the evidence you present. Conclusions of Law 
are the rulings of law made by the judge based on, or in 
connection with, the Findings of Fact. These are your proposed 
findings of fact and conclusions of law. The judge decides 
whether to use them or prepare their own. 

Form MP7a: Proposed 
Judgment (With 
Children) 

A written order of the judge’s decision. You aren’t divorced until 
the judgment is signed and filed. This is your proposed 
judgment, which is based on the conclusions of law section of 
your proposed Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order 
for Default Judgment (With Children).  
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Divorce With Children Forms (use if there are minor children of the marriage) 

Form Title Description 

Form MP8: Exhibit A: 
Confidential Division of 
Property & Debts & 
Values 

Listing of the value of the assets and liabilities of both parties 
and shows how you propose to divide the assets and liabilities of 
both parties. 

Exhibit A must be filed with the (Proposed) Findings of Fact, 
Conclusions of Law, and Order for Judgment and Judgment (With 
Children) 

Summary Real Estate 
Disposition Judgment  

Judgment which is filed in the County Recorder’s Office to 
transfer ownership of real estate. 

Note!  You only need this form if you’re transferring ownership 

of real estate. If you aren’t, you don’t need this form. 

Form MP9: Exhibit B: 
Parenting Plan 

Every divorce involving children requires a parenting plan. 

Exhibit B must be filed with the (Proposed) Findings of Fact, 
Conclusions of Law, and Order for Judgment and Judgment (With 
Children) because there are minor child of the marriage. 

Form MP10a: 
Confidential Information 
Form (With Children) 

Lists the full protected, or confidential, information that isn’t 
allowed to appear in other documents filed with the court. This 
form is a part of the court record that isn’t seen by the public. 

Form MP11a: 
Declaration of Service by 
Mail (With Children) 

Proof of service on Defendant. Lists the address of the Defendant 
and all documents served. 

Signed by the person who serves the Defendant (mails the 
documents). 

 

 

 

(List of forms for divorces without children start on next page.) 
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Divorce No Children Forms (use if no minor children of the marriage) 

Form Title Description 

Form MP1: Notice of 
Motion for Default 
Divorce Judgment 

A required written advisory that tells the Defendant that you, the 
Plaintiff, request a default divorce judgment from the Court. The 
Notice of Motion tells the Defendant that the motion will be 
decided on the documents alone. 

Form MP2: Motion for 
Default Divorce 
Judgment 

A written request to the court for a default divorce judgment. 

 

Form MP3: Brief in 
Support of Motion for 
Default Divorce 
Judgment 

A written explanation of why you, the Plaintiff, should have your 
Motion granted. The Brief takes the rules and laws that support 
your Motion and explains how they apply to the facts of your 
particular situation. 

Form MP4: Declaration 
of Default, Identification 
and Active Military 
Status 

Your, the Plaintiff’s, written statement of the Defendant’s 
default, your address and employer, the Defendant’s address 
and employer, and the Defendant’s military status. 

Form MP5b: Declaration 
of Proof for Default 
Divorce Judgment (No 
Children) 

Your, the Plaintiff’s, written statement of the jurisdictional and 
factual matters in the divorce complaint, including the factual 
basis for the grounds of the divorce. 

 

Form MP6b: Proposed 
Findings of Fact, 
Conclusions of Law and 
Order for Default Divorce 
Judgment (No Children) 

Findings of Fact are the judge’s written determination of the 
facts made from the evidence you present. Conclusions of Law 
are the rulings of law made by the judge based on, or in 
connection with, the Findings of Fact. These are your proposed 
findings of fact and conclusions of law. The judge decides 
whether to use them or prepare their own. 

Form MP7b: Proposed 
Judgment (No Children) 

A written order of the judge’s decision. You aren’t divorced until 
the judgment is signed and filed. This is your proposed 
judgment, which is based on the conclusions of law section of 
your proposed Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order 
for Default Judgment (No Children).  
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Divorce No Children Forms (use if no minor children of the marriage) 

Form Title Description 

Form MP8: Exhibit A: 
Confidential Division of 
Property & Debts & 
Values 

Listing of the value of the assets and liabilities of both parties 
and shows how you propose to divide the assets and liabilities of 
both parties. 

ExhibitA must be filed with the (Proposed) Findings of Fact, 
Conclusions of Law, and Order for Judgment and Judgment (No 
Children) 

Summary Real Estate 
Disposition Judgment  

Judgment which is filed in the County Recorder’s Office to 
transfer ownership of real estate. 

Note!  You only need this form if you are transferring ownership 

of real estate. If you aren’t, you don’t need this form. 

Form MP9: Not Required This form isn’t required for divorces without children. 

Form MP10b: 
Confidential Information 
Form (No Children) 

Lists the full protected, or confidential, information that isn’t 
allowed to appear in other documents filed with the court. This 
form is a part of the court record that isn’t seen by the public. 

Form MP11b: 
Declaration of Service by 
Mail (No Children) 

Proof of service on Defendant. Lists the address of the Defendant 
and all documents served. 

Signed by the person who serves the Defendant (mails the 
documents). 

 

 

 

 

(This space left intentionally blank.) 
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Step Four 
(Optional) 

You, the Plaintiff, Get a Proposed Qualified 
Domestic Relations Order (QDRO) 

Complete Step Four Only if you plan to divide an individual plan for pension or retirement 
plans between you and the Defendant. 

If neither you nor Defendant have pension nor retirement plans, Or you don’t plan to divide an 
individual pension or retirement plan, skip this step and go to Step Five. 

Caution! Individual Courts may have a Differently Ordered Process 
And/Or Additional Requirements to the QDRO Process! 

The QDRO process is extremely complicated. The information that follows is the basic process 
for QDROs. However, there are many possible variations to this process. 

Individual state district courts may require you to follow a differently ordered process than 
the basic process that follows. Individual state district courts may have additional requirements 

to those that follow. 

If you need assistance, consult a lawyer licensed to practice in North Dakota.  

ND Legal Self Help Center staff Can’t provide any assistance beyond the information below. The 
Center doesn’t have QDRO forms or instructions and can’t help you get a QDRO. 

Dividing pension plans and retirement accounts is extremely complicated. You’re responsible 
for making sure these assets are divided, which requires a separate court order dividing the 
assets. 

The separate court order is called a qualified domestic relations order (QDRO). You’re 
responsible for getting a proposed QDRO and presenting the proposed QDRO to the judge. The 
judge won’t draft a QDRO document or an order including a QDRO. 

For more information about QDRO’s, go to dol.gov/agencies/ebsa/workers-and-
families/separation-and-divorce and scroll to the “Retirement” section. 

Contact the plan administrator early in the process. Some plan administrators have sample 
QDRO documents for you to follow when drafting your own QDRO. Even if you use a plan 
administrator’s samples, you may want a lawyer to advise you if you’re giving up any rights. 

Don’t sign the proposed QDRO. The QDRO is signed by the judge. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ebsa/workers-and-families/separation-and-divorce
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/ebsa/workers-and-families/separation-and-divorce
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Step Five 
You, the Plaintiff, Make Copies of the Completed 
Forms 

 Make copies of the Motion for Default Divorce forms. The originals are filed with the court. 

• Make one copy for your records. 
• Make one copy to be served on the Defendant. 
• If there is a “Real Party in Interest”, such as Child Support, make a copy to be served on 

them. 

The forms to be filed are listed below and continue on Page 16: 

For divorces (With Children), copy the following forms:  

• MP1: Notice of Motion for Default Divorce Judgment – Signed by you (Plaintiff); 
• MP2: Motion for Default Divorce Judgment – Signed by you (Plaintiff); 
• MP3: Brief in Support of Default Divorce Judgment – Signed by you (Plaintiff); 
• MP4: Declaration of Default, Identification and Active Military Status – Signed by you 

(Plaintiff); 
• MP5a: Declaration of Proof for Default Divorce Judgment (With Children) – Signed by 

you (Plaintiff) 
• MP6a: Proposed Findings of fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order for Default Divorce 

Judgment (With Children) – Do Not Sign; 
• MP7a: Proposed Judgment (With Children) – Do Not Sign; 
• MP8: Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property & Debts & Values – Signed by you 

(Plaintiff) 
o Summary Real Estate Disposition Judgment (if needed) – Do Not Sign; 

• MP9: Exhibit B: Parenting Plan – Signed by you (Plaintiff) 
• MP10a: Confidential Information Form (With Children) – Signed by you (Plaintiff); 
• MP11a: Declaration of Service by Mail (With Children) – Signed by person who served 

the forms; and 
• Child Support Calculations. 

Other forms you may need to copy: 

• Qualified Domestic Relations Order (QDRO), if you’re dividing a pension or retirement 
plan. 

• Any other exhibits or attachments. 
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For divorces (No Children), copy the following forms:  

• MP1: Notice of Motion for Default Divorce Judgment – Signed by you (Plaintiff); 
• MP2: Motion for Default Divorce Judgment – Signed by you (Plaintiff); 
• MP3: Brief in Support of Default Divorce Judgment – Signed by you (Plaintiff); 
• MP4: Declaration of Default, Identification and Active Military Status – Signed by you 

(Plaintiff); 
• MP5b: Declaration of Proof for Default Divorce Judgment (No Children) – Signed by you 

(Plaintiff); 
• MP6b: Proposed Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order for Default Divorce 

Judgment (No Children) – Do Not Sign; 
• MP7b: Proposed Judgment (No Children) – Do Not Sign; 
• MP8: Exhibit A: Confidential Division of Property & Debts & Values – Signed by you 

(Plaintiff); 
o Summary Real Estate Disposition Judgment (if needed) – Do Not Sign; 

• MP10b: Confidential Information Form (No Children) – Signed by you (Plaintiff); 
• MP11b: Declaration of Service by Mail (No Children) – Signed by person who served the 

forms. 

Other forms you may need to copy: 

• Qualified Domestic Relations Order (QDRO), if you’re dividing a pension or retirement 
plan. 

• Any other exhibits or attachments. 

Step Six 
You, the Plaintiff, Arrange to Serve Copies of the 
Completed Forms on the Defendant 

  Serve the forms listed in Step Five on Defendant.  

Remember:  Don’t serve the Confidential Information Form (Forms MP10a 0r 10b) 

• If there is a “Real Party in Interest”, such as Child Support, serve the forms on them as 
well. 

NOTE:  Review the instructions for Forms 11a & 11b carefully! 
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Step Seven 
You, the Plaintiff, File the Originals of the 
Completed Forms with the Clerk of Court 

  Take or mail the completed originals of each of the forms listed in Step Five to the Clerk of 
Court in the North Dakota county listed where you filed your Summons and Complaint. 

If you filed your Summons and Complaint in Step One, you’re not required to pay another filing 
fee. 

If you haven’t filed your Summons and Complaint, you’re required to pay the $160.00 filing fee. 
See Step One for more information.  

Step Eight 
Wait for the Defendant’s (Opposing Party’s) Answer 
to Your Motion for Default Divorce Judgment 

The Defendant (Opposing Party) must answer the motion within 14 or 17 days after service of 
your motion for default divorce judgment documents. 

If you arranged to serve the motion documents by personal delivery or at their office, the 
Defendant has 14 days after the date they were served to serve and file their answer brief and 
supporting documents. 

• The date of service is the date the motion was personally delivered or left at the office. 

If you arranged to serve the motion documents by mail or third-party commercial carrier, the 
Defendant has 17 days after the date they were served to serve and file their answer brief and 
supporting documents.  

• The date of service is the date the motion was mailed. 

If the Defendant doesn’t serve and file an answer brief and supporting documents, the judge 
may consider the failure an admission by the Defendant that your motion has merit. 

Calculate days for service:  

• Starting with the day after the date the Defendant was served, count ahead 14 or 17 
calendar days.  

• If the 14th or 17th day lands on a Saturday, Sunday, or North Dakota state holiday, move 
ahead to the next day that isn’t a Saturday, Sunday, or North Dakota state holiday.  
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Step Nine 
The Judge Decides Whether to Grant You a Default 
Divorce Judgment 

After the deadline passes for motion documents to be served and filed, if neither you nor the 
Defendant request a hearing, the judge reviews the motion documents filed by the you and the 
Defendant. 

If the Defendant didn’t serve and file an answer brief and supporting documents, your Motion 
for Default Divorce Judgment documents must still prove you meet the requirements for a 
default divorce judgment. 

If the Judge doesn’t Grant Your Motion for Default Divorce Judgment: 

If the Defendant served and filed an answer brief and supporting documents and the judge 
doesn’t grant your Motion for Default Divorce Judgment, the divorce moves forward as a 
contested matter. You can no longer use the Motion for Default Divorce instructions or 
remaining forms. 

Go to Steps You Must Take Before the Court Can Grant a Divorce (Divorce Case Management) 
for the next steps in a contested divorce. 

If the Judge Grants Your Motion for Default Divorce Judgment: 

Go to Step Ten. 

Step Ten 
You, the Plaintiff, Receive a Copy of the Default 
Divorce Judgment 

If the judge grants your Motion for Default Divorce Judgment, the judge signs a Findings of Fact, 
Conclusions of Law and Order for Default Divorce Judgment. 

After the judge signs the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order for Default Divorce 
Judgment, the clerk of court signs the Judgment. The Judgment is an exact duplicate of the 
Conclusion of Law section of the Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law and Order for Default 
Divorce Judgment document signed by the judge. 

You Aren’t Divorced until the signed Judgment is filed. 

You receive a copy of the signed Judgment. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/divorce/steps-you-must-take-before-the-court-can-grant-a-divorce
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Step Eleven 
You, the Plaintiff, Prepare and Serve the Notice of 
Entry of Judgment 

Within 14 days after the divorce judgment is filed, you must serve a Notice of Entry of 
Judgment on the Defendant.  

A Notice of Entry of Default Divorce Judgment and Declaration of Service by Mail for the Notice 
of Entry are included in this packet of forms. 

Step Twelve 
You, the Plaintiff, File the Notice of Entry of 
Judgment and Declaration of Service by Mail 

After you serve Defendant, file the following with the Clerk of Court: 

• Original of Notice of Entry of Default Divorce Judgment; and 
• Declaration of Service by Mail.  


