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Petition to Establish Date and Place of Birth 
 to Obtain Birth Certificate 

An Informational Guide to a North Dakota State Civil Court Process 
 

The North Dakota Legal Self Help Center provides resources to people who represent themselves 
in civil matters in North Dakota state district courts. The information provided in this informational 
guide isn’t intended for legal advice but only as a general guide to a civil court process. 

If you decide to represent yourself, you need to do additional research to prepare. 

If you’re unsure how to proceed, don’t know if this informational guide suits your needs, or need 
legal advice or legal representation, consult a lawyer licensed to practice in North Dakota. For 
more information about finding a lawyer go to ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer. 

When you represent yourself, you’re expected to know and follow the law, including: 

• State or federal laws that apply to your case; 
• Case law, also called court opinions, that applies to your case; and 
• Court rules that apply to your case, which may include: 

o North Dakota Rules of Civil Procedure; 
o North Dakota Rules of Court; 
o North Dakota Rules of Evidence; 
o North Dakota Administrative Rules and Orders; 
o Any local court rules. 

Links to the laws, case law, and court rules are available at ndcourts.gov. 

A glossary with definitions of legal terms is available at ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help. 

When you represent yourself, you’re held to the same requirements and responsibilities as a 
lawyer, even if you don’t understand the rules or procedures. 

This information isn’t a complete statement of the law. This covers basic information about the 
process of petitioning a North Dakota state district court to establish the date and place of birth so 
you can obtain a delayed registration of birth from North Dakota Vital Records Division. The Center 

isn’t responsible for any consequences that may result from the information provided. The 
information can’t replace the advice of a lawyer licensed in North Dakota.  

Use at your own risk. 

  

http://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-%20%20a-lawyer.
http://www.ndcourts.gov/
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help
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If Your Birth (Or Your Child’s Birth) Was Never Registered And: 

You’ve worked with North Dakota Vital Records Division to get a birth certificate, 

 But 

1) You don’t have the minimum documentation required for delayed  
     registration to get a birth certificate; or 

2) Vital Records questions the validity or adequacy of your documentation; 

You May Petition the Court to Establish the Date and Place of Birth. 

Who May Petition The Court To Establish Date And Place Of Birth? 

Important!  According to N.D.C.C. § 32-37-04, you may petition the court to 

establish the date and place of birth only if you, the Petitioner, meet all of the 
following residency requirements***: 

 1. You’re a citizen of the United States;   
            2. You’ve been a resident of the state of North Dakota for one year  
                       before filing the petition; and 
            3. You’ve been a resident of the North Dakota county for more than  
                       90 days before filing the petition. 

***If you petition the court to establish the date of place and birth of a minor 
child, you and the minor child must meet the requirements listed above!*** 

 

This informational guide contains basic process information for petitioning a 
North Dakota state district court to establish the date and place of birth in order 
to obtain a birth certificate for the first time.  

This informational guide doesn’t contain information for any other type of 
requests related to a birth certificate. 

  

https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c37.pdf
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Steps to Petition to Establish Date and Place of Birth 

Step One: You, the Petitioner, Gather Your Documentation & Other Evidence 

Gather exhibits and/or Affidavits (or Declarations) to include with your Petition. 
Arrange for additional evidence, such as witnesses, to be present at the required 
hearing. 

Step Two: You, the Petitioner, Create Your Legal Documents 

1) Petition; 2) Affidavit (or Declaration) of Petitioner; and 3) Confidential 
Information Form 

Important!  Review Page 2 for the residency requirements you, the Petitioner, 

must meet. 

Step Three: You, the Petitioner, File the Original Petition Documents with the District 
Court; Get a Hearing Date 

You may be required to provide a Notice of Hearing document. 

Step Four: Notice of Hearing is Published in the Newspaper; You, the Petitioner, Arrange 
to Serve Copies of Petition Documents on Each Respondent 

Failure to publish and file proof of publication; and/or failure to serve and file 
proof of service may result in the judge dismissing your Petition. 

Step Five: Prepare for the Hearing 

You need to conduct research to prepare. 

Step Six: Attend the Hearing 

You must prove the statements in your Petition documents. 

Step Seven: The District Court Judge Issues Findings of Fact & Order 

The judge’s decision isn’t final until the Findings of Fact and Order is signed. 

Step Eight The Findings of Fact & Order to Establish Date & Place of Birth is Filed with 
North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services Vital Records 
Division 
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Section One: 

Information About Petitioning to Establish the Date and Place of Birth 
to Obtain a Birth Certificate 

What is a Delayed Registration of Birth? 

When an individual was born in North Dakota, but their birth wasn’t registered with the North 
Dakota Department of Health and Human Services Vital Records Division, if valid and adequate 
evidence is provided to the Vital Records Division, the birth can be registered and a birth 
certificate issued. 

You must first attempt to register the birth through the North Dakota Vital Records Division. 

Section 23-02.1-15 of the North Dakota Century Code gives the general requirements for 
delayed registration of birth through the Vital Records Division. 

Chapter 33-04-06 of the North Dakota Administrative Code gives the specifics of what type of 
evidence is required for the Vital Records Division to allow delayed registration of birth and to 
issue a birth certificate. 

• All certificates of birth registered one year or more after the date of birth are marked 
“Delayed” and show the date of the delayed registration. 

• If the birth is registered seven days after the birth, but within one year of the date of 
birth, the birth certificate isn’t marked “Delayed.” 

If you’re unable to register the birth through the North Dakota Vital Records Division: 

When an individual can’t register the birth through the process set out by the Vital Records 
Division, the individual may petition a North Dakota state district court to establish the date 
and place of birth. If the district court judge establishes the date and place of birth, the judge 
orders the Vital Records Division to issue a birth certificate. 

Chapter 32-37 of the North Dakota Century Code gives the requirements for this type of 
petition. The individual petitioning the District Court must prove to the judge that they meet all 
of the requirements. Chapter 32-37 is also available at the end of this guide. 

If your circumstances are complex, or you’re not sure if this is the appropriate court process 
for your circumstances, consult a lawyer who can agree to represent you. 

 

https://www.hhs.nd.gov/vital
https://www.hhs.nd.gov/vital
https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t23c02-1.pdf#nameddest=23-02p1-15
https://ndlegis.gov/information/acdata/pdf/33-04-06.pdf
https://www.hhs.nd.gov/vital
https://www.hhs.nd.gov/vital
https://www.legis.nd.gov/cencode/t32c37.html
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
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Can this Court Process be Used if the Birth Occurred in a Different State (Not in 
North Dakota? 

The text of Chapter 32-37 of the North Dakota Century Code doesn’t specifically state if this 
court process can be used for an individual who wasn’t born in North Dakota. 

Since ND Legal Self Help Center staff can’t point you to specific text in Chapter 32-37, staff can’t 
answer this question. The answer requires an interpretation of Chapter 32-37, which is part of 
legal representation. Center staff can’t represent you under any circumstances. 

If you currently live in North Dakota, but you or your minor child weren’t born in North Dakota, 
consult a lawyer licensed to practice in North Dakota to answer whether you can ask a North 
Dakota state district court to establish the date and place of birth. 

Who Are The Parties? 

Petitioner – The individual making the request. 

• If you’re 18 years of age or older and petitioning to establish your own date and place of 
birth, you’re the Petitioner. 

• If you’re petitioning on behalf of a minor child (less than 18 years old) the Petitioner 
must be: 

o 18 years of age or older; and 
o The minor child’s parent or legal guardian. 

Respondent – The person or persons you ask the judge to order to do something. The 
Petitioner arranges for service of the Notice of Hearing and Petition on each Respondent. 

• The North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services Division of Vital Records is 
a Respondent. 

• Depending of your specific circumstances, there may be other respondents. Consult a 
lawyer for assistance to determine if there are any other respondents you need to list 
on your petition. 
 

 

(This space left intentionally blank.) 

  

https://www.legis.nd.gov/cencode/t32c37.html
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
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What are the Residency Requirements for the Petitioner? 

According to N.D.C.C. § 32-37-04, you may petition the court to establish the date and place of 
birth only if you, the Petitioner, meet all of the following residency requirements***: 

1. You’re a citizen of the United States;  
2. You’ve been a resident of the state of North Dakota for one year before                 

filing the petition; and 
3. You’ve been a resident of the North Dakota county for more than 90 days before 

filing the petition. 

***If you petition the court to establish the date of place and birth of a minor child, you and 
the minor child must meet the requirements listed above!*** 

Is There Help Available for Creating Legal Documents? 

If you need assistance creating your legal documents, consult a lawyer licensed to practice in 
North Dakota.  

ND Legal Self Help Center staff and court system staff can’t help you create or prepare your 
legal documents. 

Does the ND Legal Self Help Center Have Forms to Petition to Establish Date and 
Place of Birth? 

No. The ND Legal Self Help Center doesn’t have a packet of forms for petitioning a North 
Dakota state district court to establish the date and place of birth. 

If you decide to represent yourself, you create and prepare your own legal documents. Names 
and descriptions of documents you need to create and prepare are listed throughout this 
guide. 

A variety of General-Use forms are available through the ND Legal Self Help Center. You may 
find the General-Use forms of interest as a starting point for creating your own legal 
documents. 

The link to the General-Use forms is ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/general-use-forms. 

Formatting examples of some of the documents you need to create and prepare are available 
at the end of this guide. 

https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c37.pdf
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/general-use-forms
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Fees 

You’re required to pay a $160.00 filing fee. 

• See Step Three for information on how to ask the court to waive the $160.00 filing fee if 
you can’t afford to pay. 

You’re required to pay the newspaper’s fees for publication. 

• A hearing is required. Notice of the hearing must be published in the newspaper of the 
North Dakota county where you file the Petition. Notice must be published for two 
consecutive weeks. 

You’re required to pay any service fees. 

• You must arrange for service of the Petition and other supporting documents on the 
North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, the Vital Records Division, and 
any other Respondents you identify. 

Lawyer Resources and Limited Legal Representation 

You’re not required to hire a lawyer to bring a civil case in North Dakota State District Court. If 
you represent yourself, you must follow all of the same rules, laws and procedures as a lawyer. 

ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer has more information about finding a lawyer. 

Lawyer Resources 

• Legal Services of North Dakota is a non-profit organization, providing free legal 
assistance to North Dakota residents in a variety of matters based on income. Legal 
Services of North Dakota can also determine whether an applicant meets the income 
requirements for the Volunteer Lawyers program that offers low-cost legal assistance 
based on income. The phone number is (800) 634-5263 and the website is lsnd.org.  

• The State Bar Association of North Dakota provides a lawyer referral service to match 
paying clients with lawyers. The phone number is (866) 450-9579 and the website is 
sband.org. You pay $30.00 for a 30 minute consultation with a lawyer. 

• Dakota Plains Legal Services is a non-profit legal services organization that provides free 
legal assistance to low-income individuals, older Americans and veterans. Dakota Plains 
Legal Services (DPLS) has eight offices and serves communities across South Dakota and 
North Dakota, including nine tribal nations. DPLS is committed to increasing access to 
justice with quality legal assistance. Contact information is available on the DPLS 
webpage of dpls.org. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
http://www.legalassist.org/
http://www.sband.org/
http://www.dpls.org/
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• For a list of all lawyers who are licensed to practice in North Dakota, go to the North 
Dakota Supreme Court website at ndcourts.gov/Lawyers. You can narrow your search by 
name or location. 

Limited Legal Representation 

Lawyers licensed to practice in North Dakota may provide Limited Legal Representation in civil 
cases. Limited Legal Representation (sometimes called “unbundling”) is a way a lawyer can help 
you with part of your case while you do the rest of your case. You pay for the part of the case 
the lawyer handled. 

For example: 

• You may want a lawyer to give you an expert opinion about your options, or your legal 
rights and responsibilities; 

• You can consult with a lawyer to prepare or review your legal documents, but attend 
hearings yourself; 

• You can represent yourself through the whole case, and periodically consult with a 
lawyer who can coach you on the law, procedures and strategy; 

• You can do the preparation yourself and hire a lawyer just to make court appearances 
for you. 

You and the lawyer must agree in writing to Limited Legal Representation.  

North Dakota Free Legal Answers 

This civil legal program is a partnership of the American Bar Association and the State Bar 
Association of North Dakota.  

The purpose of the program is to provide free answers to specific civil legal question to low-
moderate income North Dakotans who submit their questions online. Anonymous volunteer 
attorneys answer your question, but can’t represent you. 

Go to nd.freelegalanswers.org or information about the program, the online application, and, if 
you qualify, ask your civil legal question. 

This program doesn’t provide any assistance with criminal legal questions. 

 

 

 

http://www.ndcourts.gov/Lawyers
https://nd.freelegalanswers.org/
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Section Two: 

The Petition Process to Establish Date and Place of Birth to Obtain a 
Birth Certificate 

Residency Requirements for the Petitioner 

Important!  According to N.D.C.C. § 32-37-04, you may petition the court to 

establish the date and place of birth only  if you, the Petitioner, meet all of the 
following residency requirements***: 

 1. You’re a citizen of the United States;   
            2. You’ve been a resident of the state of North Dakota for one year 
                       before filing the petition; and 
            3. You’ve been a resident of the North Dakota county for more than  
                       90 days before filing the petition. 

***If you petition the court to establish the date of place and birth of a minor 
child, you and the minor child must meet the requirements listed above!*** 

Step One: Gather Your Documentation & Other Evidence 

Chapter 32-37 of the North Dakota Century Code requires you, the Petitioner, to prove the 
date of birth and city, county, and state of birth, citizenship status, and the names and 
addresses of the birth parents, including the birth mother’s maiden name. 

If you, the Petitioner, are petitioning to establish your own date of birth and city, county, and 
state of birth, at minimum, you must prove the following to the North Dakota State District 
Court: 

• The Petitioner is a citizen of the United States; 
o If the Petitioner was born outside the boundaries of the territorial United States, 

enough evidence to prove: 
 The Petitioner is a citizen of the United States; and  
 The basis for the Petitioner’s citizenship. 

• The Petitioner has lived in North Dakota for at least the past year; 
• The Petitioner is currently living in a North Dakota county, and has been living in that 

county for at least the past 90 days; 

https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c37.pdf
https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c27.pdf
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• The Petitioner’s date of birth and the city, county, and state of birth; 
• The Petitioner’s gender; 
• If the Petitioner was born within the United States, whether or not the Petitioner’s 

parents were transient aliens or alien public ministers or consuls; 
• The names of the Petitioner’s parents, including the mother’s maiden name; and 
• The addresses of the Petitioner’s parents, if the Petitioner’s parents are alive. 

If you, the Petitioner, are petitioning on behalf of a minor child (less than 18 years old) to 
establish the minor child’s date of birth and city, county, and state of birth, at minimum, you 
must prove the following to the North Dakota State District Court: 

• The Petitioner’s relationship to the minor child; 
• The minor child is a citizen of the United States; 

o If the minor child was born outside the boundaries of the territorial United 
States, enough evidence to prove: 
 The minor child is a citizen of the United States; and 
 The basis for citizenship. 

• The minor child and you, the Petitioner, have lived in North Dakota for at least the past 
year; 

• The minor child is currently living with the Petitioner in a North Dakota county, and has 
been living in that county for at least the past 90 days; 

• The minor child’s date of birth and city, county, and state of birth; 
• The minor child’s gender; 
• If the minor child was born within the United States, whether or not the minor child’s 

parents were transient aliens or alien public ministers or consuls; 
• The names of the minor child’s parents, including the mother’s maiden name; and 
• The addresses of the minor child’s parents, if the minor child’s parents are alive. 

Create an evidence list of documentation, potential witness testimony, and any other 
evidence. 

Start by creating a two-column evidence list. In one column, list everything you’re required to 
prove to the court from Pages 9-10. In the second column, list the documentation, or other 
evidence, that proves each item in the first column. 

• An example of a two-column evidence list is available at the end of this Informational 
Guide. 
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Some examples of documentation are: 

• A notarized Affidavit (or unsworn Declaration) from a person with first-hand knowledge 
of the birth (the judge assigned to your Petition may require the person to appear at the 
hearing); 

• A witness with first-hand knowledge of the birth; 
• Social Security record; 
• Federal Census record; 
• Original birth notice in a newspaper; 
• School record; 
• Vaccination record; 
• Insurance policy; 
• Passport; 
• Voter registration card; 
• Church baptismal and/or church cradle roll record; or 
• Medical, hospital, or dental record. 

This list doesn’t include all possible examples of documentation. 

You make all decisions about how to prove the requirements of establishing the date of birth, 
and city, county, and state of birth. The ND Legal Self Help can’t advise you. If you need 
assistance, consult a lawyer licensed to practice in North Dakota. 

Gather your documentation and other evidence to include as exhibits with your Petition. 
Arrange for witness testimony. 

Depending on the type of documentation and other evidence you decide to use, you may need 
to get certified copies. 

• Contact the state government agency directly and ask how you can get a certified copy. 

Make a copy of your documentation and type or write an exhibit identifier on each copy. 

For example, Exhibit A, Exhibit B, Exhibit C.  

 

When you refer to your documentation in your Petition document, include the name you gave 
the Exhibit. 

 

Petitioner’s 
Exhibit A 

Party 

Exhibit Letter 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
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A hearing is required. You present the documentation you include with your Petition and 
witness testimony (if any) at the hearing. 

Keep the originals of your documentation in a file or other safe place. Once a hearing date is 
scheduled, you need to make sure you have the documentation available for the hearing. 

If a witness is unable or unwilling to appear at the hearing voluntarily, you may need the Clerk 
of Court to issue a subpoena. Only a Clerk of Court or a lawyer for a party are allowed to issue a 
subpoena. 

• Information about subpoenas is available at ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/subpoenas. 

Step Two: Create Your Legal Documents 

Three Documents are Required: 

1. The Petition to Establish Date and Place of Birth; 
2. The Affidavit (or Declaration) of Petitioner; and 
3. The Confidential Information Form. 

One Document May be Required by a District Court: 

1. Notice of Hearing. 

Create the Petition to Establish Date and Place of Birth: 

A Petition is a written request for an Order granting the relief the Petitioner is seeking. The 
Petition describes in short, plain statements that you, the Petitioner, are entitled to relief, and 
includes the request, or requests, for relief. 

The Caption (Top) of the Petition must include the following: 

• The name of the North Dakota county where you currently live, and have lived for at 
least the last 90 days. 

o If you’re the Petitioner for a minor child, the child must also live in the North 
Dakota county for at least the last 90 days. 

• The Judicial District of the North Dakota county. 
o A map of North Dakota counties and their Judicial Districts is available at 

ndcourts.gov/court-locations. Click on the county to find the Judicial District. 
• The full name of you, the Petitioner. 

 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/subpoenas
https://www.ndcourts.gov/court-locations
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• The North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services Vital Records Division 
listed as Respondent. 

o Depending on your circumstances, you may need to list additional Respondents. 
Consult a lawyer if you need assistance. 

• A space for the case number. 
o Case Number:      
o The case number is assigned and filled in if your Petition is accepted for filing by 

the clerk of court in Step Three. 
• The title of your Petition. 

o If you’re petitioning to establish your own date and place of birth, the title is 
“Petition to Establish Date and Place of Birth” 

o If you’re petitioning on behalf of a minor child, the title is “Petition to Establish 
Date and Place of Birth of a Minor Child” 

Don’t include the following in your Petition: 

• Don’t include full birthdates. 
o Instead of the full birthdate, use the birth year. 
o For example: 1990 instead of 1/1/1990. 

• Don’t include the name of a minor child. 
o Instead, refer to the minor child by the child’s initials. 
o For example: J.J.D. instead of John James Doe. 

• The full birthdate and the minor child’s name are provided to the District Court in a 
separate document called the Confidential Information Form. 

At minimum, the Petition must include the following: 

• Statements addressing each of the things you must prove to the court. 
o See Step One for the list of what you must prove. 
o Review Chapter 32-37, specifically Section 32-37-02. Chapter 32-37 is included at 

the end of this guide. 
o If you include documentation, refer to your documentation using the exhibit 

letters you assigned when you marked the exhibits in Step One. 

• Statements of the reasons you’re bringing the Petition and the steps you took to obtain 
a birth certificate from the Vital Records Division. 

o If you include documentation, refer to your documentation by using the exhibit 
letters you assigned when you marked the exhibits in Step One. 

• Requests for relief, also called demands for relief. 
o Tell the court what you want the court to do. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/finding-a-lawyer
https://www.legis.nd.gov/cencode/t32c37.pdf
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• Dated and signed by you, the Petitioner. 
o Directly following your signature, write or type your printed name, address, 

email address, and phone number. 
o If your mailing and street addresses are different, include both. 

• Your verification of the correctness, truth or authenticity of the petition. 
o Your verification statement comes after the date and signature block on the 

Petition. 

You may find two general-use forms useful as a starting point for creating your Petition. The 
general-use forms are available at ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/general-use-forms. 

• Caption and Signature (Petition) Form 
• Verification (Petition) Form 

A formatting example of a Petition to Establish Date and Place of Birth is available at the end of 
this Informational Guide. 

The example Petition is included only as a formatting example. The ND Legal Self Help Center 
doesn’t guarantee or certify its accuracy or legal sufficiency. Use at your own risk. 

Create the Affidavit (or Declaration) of Petitioner:  

An Affidavit is a written statement of fact given by you, the Petitioner. Include the facts from 
the Petition about which you have first-hand knowledge. The Affidavit must be dated and 
signed in front of a notary public, clerk of court, or other notarial officer. 

A Declaration is a written statement of fact given by you, the Petitioner. Include the facts from 
the Petition about which you have first-hand knowledge. Notarization isn’t required when a 
Declaration will be filed with a North Dakota state district court in a civil case and meets the 
requirements as in Rule 11(a)(2) of the North Dakota Rules of Civil Procedure, and Chapter 31-
15 of the North Dakota Century Code.  

In other words, it’s your written testimony of the facts you included in your Petition. 

• The Caption (Top) of the Affidavit (or Declaration) must include the exact information 

included in the caption of the Petition. Except the title of the Affidavit is “Affidavit of 
Petitioner” (the title of the Declaration is “Declaration of Petitioner”.) 

• Don’t include the following in your Affidavit (or Declaration): 

o Don’t include full birthdates. 
 Instead of the full birthdate, use the birth year. 
 For example: 1990 instead of 1/1/1990. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/general-use-forms
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-resources/rules/ndrcivp/11
https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t31c15.html
https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t31c15.html
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o Don’t include the name of a minor child. 
 Instead, refer to the minor child by the child’s initials. 
 For example: J.J.D. instead of John James Doe. 

o The full birthdate and the minor child’s name are provided to the District Court 
in a separate document called the Confidential Information Form. 

• Dated and signed by you, the Petitioner. 
o Directly following your signature, write or type your printed name, address, 

email address, and phone number. 
o If your mailing and street addresses are different, include both. 

You may find the following general-use forms useful as a starting point for creating your 
Affidavit (or Declaration). 

• Affidavit (Petition) Form;  
• Declaration (Petition) Form; 

A formatting example of a Declaration of Petitioner is available at the end of this Informational 
Guide. 

The example Declaration is included only as a formatting example. The ND Legal Self Help 
Center doesn’t guarantee or certify its accuracy or legal sufficiency. Use at your own risk. 

Prepare the Confidential Information Form: 

Full birthdates and the names of minor children are considered confidential and aren’t allowed 
to appear in documents filed with a North Dakota state district court. 

However, the District Court needs to know the full birthdate and names of minor children in 
order to make decisions on petitions to establish the date and place of birth. 

The full birthdates and names of minor children are provided to the court on a Confidential 
Information Form. 

A fillable Confidential Information Form is provided at the end of this guide. 

Prepare the Notice of Hearing: 

You may be required to prepare a Notice of Hearing. This depends on the Court.   

Section 32-37-03 states that “the clerk of district court with whom [the] petition is filed shall 
issue a notice … fixing a time and place for the hearing upon [the] petition.” 

Some courts prepare the Notice of Hearing. 



NDLSHC Info Guide Page 16 of 22 Est Date Place Birth/Rev Jul 2025 

However, some courts may require you, the Petitioner, to prepare the Notice of Hearing. 

If you’re required by the court to prepare the Notice of Hearing, an example is available at the 
end of this guide. 

The example Notice of Hearing is included only as a formatting example. The ND Legal Self Help 
Center doesn’t guarantee or certify its accuracy or legal sufficiency. Use at your own risk. 

Make Copies of the Completed Documents: 

Make two copies of the following completed documents: 

1. The Petition to Establish Date and Place of Birth; 
2. The Affidavit (or Declaration) of Petitioner;  
3. The Confidential Information Form; and 
4. The Notice of Hearing (if required by the District Court where you file). 

Make two copies of all of the exhibits you referred to in your Petition. 

Keep one copy for your records. You serve the other copies in Step Four. 

Step Three: File the Original Petition Documents With the Clerk of Court; Get a 
Hearing Date 

Contact information for clerks of court by county is available at ndcourts.gov/court-locations. 

File the originals of the following completed documents with the clerk of court: 

• The Petition to Establish Date and Place of Birth; 
• The Affidavit (or Declaration) of Petitioner;  
• The Confidential Information Form; 
• The Notice of Hearing (if required by the Court where you file); and 
• Copies of all documentation/exhibits you reference in your Petition. 

If the clerk of court accepts your documents for filing, the clerk assigns a case number. Make 
sure the case number is written on all of your documents. 

You’re required to pay a $160.00 filing fee. 

Forms and instructions for asking the court to waive the $160.00 filing fee are available at 
ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/fee-waiver. 

 

 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/court-locations
https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/fee-waiver
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Get a hearing date and time from the clerk of court. 

A hearing is required. If you’re required to prepare a Notice of Hearing, get the hearing date, 
time, and location from the clerk of court. Write the date, time, and location on the Notice of 
Hearing and sign and date the document. 

If the clerk of court prepares the Notice of Hearing, you may be handed the completed Notice 
of Hearing with the date, time, and location. If the Notice of Hearing will be mailed to you, you 
may ask the clerk of court for the hearing date, time, and location. 

Step Four: Notice of Hearing Published in the Newspaper; Serve Copies of the 
Petition Documents on Each Respondent 

Section 32-37-03 requires publication of the Notice of Hearing in the newspaper of the North 
Dakota county where you file your Petition. 

The Notice of Hearing must be published for two consecutive weeks. The last publication in 

the newspaper must happen at least ten days before the date of the hearing. 

Depending on the District Court where you file, you may be required to take the Notice of 
Hearing document to the newspaper, or the court may handle it for you. 

If you’re required to publish the Notice of Hearing in the newspaper, contact the newspaper in 
the county for information on the newspaper’s requirements and the fee for publishing the 
notice for two consecutive weeks. 

After publication of the Notice of Hearing is complete, you receive an Affidavit (or Declaration) 
of Publication from the newspaper. 

As soon as possible, file the Affidavit (or Declaration) of Publication with the clerk of court. The 
District Court may not hold the hearing if you don’t file the Affidavit (or Declaration) of 
Publication. 

 

 

(This space left intentionally blank.) 

 

 

https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c37.pdf#nameddest=32-37-03
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As soon as possible, arrange to serve copies of the Petition documents and the Notice of 
Hearing on the Respondents. 

***Filing a document isn’t the same as serving a document. 
Filing doesn’t meet the requirements of service. Proof of service of the document(s) must be 

filed with the court.*** 

Each Respondent you listed on the Petition must be served with one copy of the following 
completed documents: 

• The Petition to Establish Date and Place of Birth; 
• The Affidavit (or Declaration) of Petitioner; 
• All documentation/exhibits you reference in your Petition; and 
• The Notice of Hearing with the date, time and location of the hearing. 

When you serve a North Dakota state government agency, you may serve the documents on 
any of the following: 

• The managing head of the agency; 
• The North Dakota Attorney General; or 
• An Assistant North Dakota Attorney General. 

The documents must be served as required by Rule 4 of the North Dakota Rules of Civil 
Procedure. 

• For information about the requirements and the process of serving documents as 
required by Rule 4, go to ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/service-in-a-civil-action. Carefully 
review the service information to start a civil action in this section. 

You must provide proof of service for each Respondent to the district court. 

A completed and signed Certificate of Service, Declaration of Service, or Affidavit of Service 
from the person who served the documents is your proof of service. 

Blank Declaration of Service forms are available at the link above. 

File proof of service with the clerk of court as soon as possible before the date of the 
hearing. If you don’t provide proof of service, the court won’t act on your petition. 

Section 32-37-04 allows that “[a]ny citizen of the United States may appear at the hearing … 
and shall be heard in favor of or in opposition to the petition… .” 

However, anyone opposing your Petition, must put their opposition in writing and file it with 
the District Court before the date of the hearing. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/service-in-a-civil-action
https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c37.pdf#nameddest=32-37-04
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Step Five: Prepare for the Hearing 

After the Petition is filed, the case is assigned to a judge. The judge presides over the hearing 
and decides whether to grant your Petition. 

Prepare Your Case: 

You, the Petitioner, must prove the statements in your Petition. 

Caution! Preparing a case is often a complex and confusing process. You’re held to the same 
requirements and responsibilities as a lawyer, even if don’t understand the rules or procedures. 

You need to conduct additional research to prepare. 

Subpoenas: If you need a witness to appear at the hearing or require production of documents, 
electronically stored information or other tangible things, you may need the Clerk of Court to 
issue a subpoena. Only a Clerk of Court or a lawyer for a party may issue a subpoena. 

• Information about subpoenas is available at ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/subpoenas. 

Evidence: You’re required to follow the North Dakota Rules of Evidence when presenting your 
own evidence and when objecting to the evidence presented by other parties. 

• An Evidence Research Guide is available. 

You may also wish to review the guides for self-represented individuals for gathering and 
presenting evidence at rcdvcpc.org/resources/self-represented-litigants-series.html. 

Review pre-trial and trial guidebooks for self-represented litigants and lawyers. Your local 
public or academic library may have resources available. 

ODIN is a shared library database of many North Dakota academic, public, state agency, and 
special libraries. Search ODIN for resources that may be available in a North Dakota library near 
you. (polaris.odinlibrary.org) If the book is available for interlibrary loan through ODIN, ask the 
librarian or library staff of your local North Dakota library how to request the book. 

Following are a selection of library resources on ODIN that may be of interest to you: 

• A Short & Happy Guide to Evidence, Sydney Beckman, West Academic Publishing, 2018. 
• Courtroom Evidence Handbook: 2018-2019 Student Edition, Steven Goode, Olin 

Wellborn III, West Academic Publishing, 2018. 
• Represent Yourself in Court: How to Prepare & Try a Winning Case, Paul Bergman, Sara 

Berman, NOLO, 2016. 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help/subpoenas
https://www.ndcourts.gov/Media/Default/Legal%20Resources/Legal%20Self%20Help/Civil%20Action/Evidence%20Research%20Guide.pdf
https://rcdvcpc.org/resources/self-represented-litigants-series.html
https://polaris.odinlibrary.org/polaris/default.aspx?ctx=36.1033.0.0.1
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Step Six: Attend the Hearing 

Section 32-37-04 allows that “[a]ny citizen of the United States may appear at the hearing … 
and shall be heard in favor of or in opposition to the petition… .” 

However, anyone opposing your Petition, must put their opposition in writing and file it with 
the District Court before the date of the hearing. 

Attend The Hearing: 

Organize the information, documents, etc. that you think you need for the hearing. At 
minimum, prepare an outline of your remarks and arguments. 

If the Hearing is Held In-Person, Arrive Early to the Courthouse on the Date of the Hearing:  

Don’t miss your hearing date and time. If you have a serious, unavoidable reason you can’t get 
to court on the date and time scheduled for the hearing, call the Court as soon as you can. 

If the Hearing is Held by Zoom, Make Sure You Can Connect to the Zoom Hearing: 

If your hearing is held electronically by Zoom, well before the hearing begins, make sure you 
can connect and understand how to function in Zoom. 

Don’t be late to the Zoom hearing. If you have a serious, unavoidable reason you can’t attend 
the hearing on the date and time scheduled for the hearing, call the Court as soon as you can. 

Conduct of the Hearing:  

The judge hears both sides and then issues a final Findings of Fact and Order. Sometimes, the 
final Findings of Fact and Order is issued at the end of the hearing. Often, the final Findings of 
Fact and Order is issued at a later date. 

In general, a hearing proceeds in the following order:  

• Opening Statements 
o Each party gives an opening statement. Usually, the Petitioner goes first. 

• Petitioner Presents Witnesses and Evidence 
o The Petitioner presents their case first. The Respondent(s) may cross-examine 

witnesses and object to the Petitioner’s evidence. 
• Respondent Presents Witnesses and Evidence 

o Each Respondent presents their case after the Petitioner. The Petitioner may 
cross-examine witnesses and object to the Respondent’s evidence. 

• Closing Arguments 
o Each party gives a closing statement. Usually the Respondent(s) goes first. 

https://www.ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c37.pdf#nameddest=32-37-04


NDLSHC Info Guide Page 21 of 22 Est Date Place Birth/Rev Jul 2025 

Before You Leave the Hearing:  

Make sure you understand what happens next. Ask if you’re not sure what, if anything, you 
need to do next. 

Step Seven: The District Court Judge Issues Findings of Fact and Order 

The Judge May Prepare Their Own Findings of Fact and Order. 

If the judge prepares their own Findings of Fact and Order, a signed copy is mailed to 
you. 

However, You, the Petitioner, May Be Required to Prepare a Proposed Findings of 
Fact and Order for the Judge to Sign. 

If the judge requires you, the Petitioner, to prepare proposed Findings of Fact and 
Order, complete Step 7. 

 

Proposed Findings of Fact and Order: 

Review Rule 7.1 of the North Dakota Rules of Court carefully! 

Findings of Fact are the judge’s written determination of the facts made from the evidence 
presented at the hearing. This explains what facts the judge found to be true. 

The Order is the ruling of law made by the judge based on, or in connection with, the findings 
of fact. These are the legal consequences of the facts the judge found to be true. 

The judge decides whether the Petitioner’s proposed Findings of Fact and Order are 
appropriate. If the judge decides they are appropriate, the judge signs and dates the Findings of 
Fact and Order. 

The Findings of Fact and Order isn’t official until signed and dated by the judge. 

A formatting example of proposed Findings of Fact and Order is available at the end of this 
guide. 

 

 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-resources/rules/ndrct/7-1
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Step 8: Findings of Fact & Order Filed With the North Dakota Department of 
Health and Human Services Vital Records Division 

Important!! Step Eight only happens if the District Court judge assigned to your Petition 
establishes the date and place of birth in the Findings of Fact & Order. 

Following the hearing, if the date and place of birth are established: 

• Request a certified copy of the Findings of Fact and Order from the Clerk of Court. 
• Send the certified copy of the Findings of Fact and Order to the North Dakota 

Department of Health and Human Services, Vital Records Division, along with a check 
for $15.00. 

Section Three: 

Appendix of Formatting Examples. 

Appendices: 

• Chapter 32-37 of the North Dakota Century Code. 
• Evidence List for Petitioner 18 years old or older. 
• Evidence List for Petitioner for a minor child (under 18 years old). 
• A formatting example of a Petition to Establish Date and Place of Birth. 
• A formatting example of a Declaration of Petitioner in support of the 

Petition. 
• A formatting example of a Petition to Establish Date and Place of Birth for a 

Minor Child. 
• A formatting example of a Declaration of Petitioner in support of the 

Petition for a minor child. 
• A Confidential Information Form 
• A formatting example of Notice of Hearing. 
• A formatting example of Findings of Fact and Order to Establish Date and 

Place of Birth (showing full confidential information). 
• A formatting example of findings of fact and order to establish date and 

place of birth (with redacted confidential information). 



CHAPTER 32-37
ESTABLISHING DATE AND PLACE OF BIRTH

32-37-01. Where proceeding maintained.
Any  citizen  of  the  United  States,  either  natural  born  or  naturalized,  may  maintain  a

proceeding in accordance with this chapter in the district court of the county in which the person 
resides for the purpose of having a judicial determination of the date and place of the person's 
birth.

32-37-02. How proceedings instituted - Contents of petition.
Such proceedings for the purpose of having a judicial determination of the date of birth and

place of birth shall be instituted by the filing of a petition, which must be duly verified by the 
petitioner, with the clerk of the district court of the county in which the petitioner resides, setting 
forth:

1. That the petitioner is a citizen of the United States.
2. That the petitioner has resided in the state of North Dakota for one year last past and

in  the  county  in  which  the  action  is  brought  for  at  least  ninety  days  immediately
preceding the commencement of the action.

3. The place and date of birth of the petitioner.
4. If  the petitioner  was born within the United States of  America,  whether or  not  the

parents of the petitioner were transient aliens or alien public ministers or consuls.
5. The names of the petitioner's parents, together with the addresses of the petitioner's

parents, if they are living.
6. If  the petitioner  was born without  the boundaries of  the territorial  United States of

America, facts sufficient to show that the petitioner is a citizen of the United States of
America, and the basis upon which citizenship rests.

32-37-03. Notice given by clerk of district court.
Upon the filing of a petition of the kind described in this chapter, the clerk of the district court

with whom such petition is filed shall issue a notice under the seal of the said district court fixing 
the time and place for the hearing upon such petition. Such notice shall be published in the 
official newspaper of the county for two successive weeks, the last publication to be at least ten 
days before the time set for hearing. Proof of the publication required by this section shall be 
filed in the office of the clerk of the district court on or before the date set for the hearing on such 
petition.

32-37-04. Hearing - Who may appear - Judgment.
Any citizen of the United States may appear at the hearing provided for in this chapter and

shall be heard in favor of or in opposition to the petition, but all objections to said petition must 
be in writing and must be filed with the court. Upon the hearing thereof, affidavits, including the 
affidavit of the petitioner, shall be received in evidence and shall have the same force and effect 
as if the testimony had been taken by deposition. If, after hearing, the court shall be satisfied by 
competent evidence of the sufficiency of the petition, that the applicant is a citizen of the United 
States, that the applicant has been a citizen of the state of North Dakota for one year last past 
and of the county for more than ninety days preceding the filing of the petition, and that the 
applicant's date of birth and place of birth are proven, it shall make appropriate findings of fact 
and conclusions of law and shall order a judgment to that effect, and such judgment shall be 
entered in the office of the clerk of the district court upon such order. A judgment establishing 
the date of birth and place of birth of the petitioner shall be entitled to full faith and credit in the 
same manner as any other judgment of the courts of this state. If, after hearing, the court is not 
satisfied that the date and place of birth have been proven, it shall make appropriate findings of 
fact and conclusions of law and shall enter an order for judgment denying the petition, and a 
judgment shall be entered upon such order in the office of the clerk of the district court.
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32-37-05. Fees paid by petitioner - Filing copy of judgment.
The petitioner, upon the filing of the petition, must pay to the clerk of the district court a filing 

fee as prescribed in subsection 1 of section 27-05.2-03. The cost of the publication of the notice 
required by this chapter shall be paid by the petitioner. In the event that said judgment shall 
establish the date and place of birth of the petitioner, the clerk of the court shall certify a copy of 
such judgment and file the same with the division of vital statistics, department of health and 
human services, Bismarck, North Dakota.

32-37-06. District courts have exclusive jurisdiction - Appeals.
The district court of  this state shall  have exclusive jurisdiction to hear and determine all 

petitions made under this chapter. Any citizen may appeal from the judgment rendered herein 
the same as in civil actions.
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Evidence List 
(Establish My Date & Place of Birth – I’m 18 years old or older) 

Column 1: What I Must Prove Column 2: Evidence to Prove Each Row of Column 1 
1. I’m a citizen of the United States.  

If born outside the territorial U.S., I also 
need to prove the basis for my U.S. 
citizenship. (See #6 on this list) 

 

2. I’ve lived in North Dakota for at least 
the past year and I currently live in a 
North Dakota county, where I’ve lived for 
at least the past 90 days. 

 

3. My gender, date of birth and my place 
of birth (city, county, state). 

 

 

 

 

 

4. If I was born within the U.S., whether 
or not my parents were transient aliens, 
or alien public ministers or consuls. 

 

5. The names of both of my parents, 
living or dead. (Including mother’s 
maiden name).The address for each living 
parent. 

 

 

 

6. If I was born outside the territorial U.S., 
facts sufficient to show I’m a citizen of the 
U.S. and the basis for their citizenship. 
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Evidence List 
(Establish My Child’s Date & Place of Birth – For child under 18 years old) 

Column 1: What I Must Prove Column 2: Evidence to Prove Each Row of Column 1 
1. My relationship to the minor child. (Must be 
either the parent or legal guardian.) 

 

 

2. The minor child is a citizen of the United 
States.  

If born outside the territorial U.S., I also need to 
prove the basis for the minor child’s U.S. 
citizenship. (See #7 on this list) 

 

3. The minor child and I lived in North Dakota for 
at least the past year and we currently live in a 
North Dakota county, where we’ve lived for at 
least the past 90 days. 

 

4. The minor child’s gender, date of birth and 
their place of birth (city, county, state). 

 

 

 

 

 

5. If the minor child was born within the U.S., 
whether or not their parents were transient 
aliens, or alien public ministers or consuls. 

 

6. The names of both of the minor child’s 
parents, living or dead. (Including mother’s 
maiden name). The address for each living 
parent. 

 

 

 



Caution! You must meet the residency requirements in N.D.C.C. § 32-37-04 before filing this Petition. 

This example is provided for general formatting purposes only. Use at your own risk.  
The ND Legal Self Help Center DOESN’T endorse, warrant, or accept responsibility for the content or 
uses of this formatting example. As a self-represented individual, you must determine the laws that 

apply to your civil action, create the content of your legal documents, and determine if your 
documents are legally sufficient. 

State of North Dakota,    In District Court 
County of XXXXXXX     XXXXXXXXXX Judicial District 

      )  
Jane Ellen Doe     ) Civil No. 0X-2024-CV-00XXX 
   Petitioner,  ) 
vs      )  
      ) Petition to Establish Date and 
North Dakota Department of Health,  ) Place of Birth 
Vital Records Division              ) 
   Respondents.  ) 

 Petitioner, Jane Ellen Doe, and pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Chapter 32-37, 

respectfully shows the Court as follows: 

1. Petitioner, Jane Ellen Doe, is a United States citizen born within the United States of 

America. 

2. Petitioner has been a resident of North Dakota since May 2017, and is currently living in 

XXXXXXX County, North Dakota. Petitioner has lived in XXXXXXX County since May 2017. 

3. Petitioner was born in 2001 in the City of XXXXXXX, XXXXXXX County, North Dakota.  

Petitioner’s full birthdate is listed on the Confidential Information Form filed with the Petition. 

4. Petitioner is female. 

5. Petitioner’s parents were not transient aliens or alien public ministers or consuls. 

6. Petitioner’s parents are: 

Adam John Doe   Anita Jane Doe 
Deceased June 1, 2021  XXth Street South 
     XXXXX XXXXX, ND 58XXX  

     Maiden Name:  Anita Jane Smith 

Page 1 of 3 
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Caution! You must meet the residency requirements in N.D.C.C. § 32-37-04 before filing this Petition. 

This example is provided for general formatting purposes only. Use at your own risk.  
The ND Legal Self Help Center DOESN’T endorse, warrant, or accept responsibility for the content or 
uses of this formatting example. As a self-represented individual, you must determine the laws that 

apply to your civil action, create the content of your legal documents, and determine if your 
documents are legally sufficient. 

7. Petitioner was born at home and her birth was never registered with the North Dakota 

Department of Health Vital Records Division. 

8. Petitioner attempted to request the registration of a delayed record of birth through the 

Vital Records process, but was unsuccessful. 

9. Petitioner is bringing this Petition because she wants to enroll in College and obtain a 

Drivers License. 

WHEREFORE, Petitioner requests as follows: 

10. The Court, pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Chapter 32-37, issue an order 

establishing that Petitioner’s date of birth and place of birth did in fact occur as stated in 

Paragraph 3, also as shown in the Affidavit of Petitioner, and by other evidence presented at 

the hearing. 

Dated April 28, 2024. 

    By: Jane Ellen Doe 
     Jane Ellen Doe 

     XXrd Avenue North 
     XXXXXXX, ND 58XXX 
     Telephone: (701) XXX-XXXX 
     xxxxx@xxxxx.com 
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Caution! You must meet the residency requirements in N.D.C.C. § 32-37-04 before filing this Petition. 

This example is provided for general formatting purposes only. Use at your own risk.  
The ND Legal Self Help Center DOESN’T endorse, warrant, or accept responsibility for the content or 
uses of this formatting example. As a self-represented individual, you must determine the laws that 

apply to your civil action, create the content of your legal documents, and determine if your 
documents are legally sufficient. 

Verification 

I, Jane Ellen Doe, declare under penalty of perjury under the law of North Dakota, that I 

am the Petitioner in the above-entitled action; that I have read the Petition to Establish Date 

and Place of Birth and know the contents thereof and that the same is true, except as to 

matters stated therein upon information and belief as to those matters I state that I believe 

them to be true. 

Signed on April 28, 2024, in XXXXXXX City, XXXXXXX County, North Dakota, USA. 

By: Jane Ellen Doe 
Jane Ellen Doe 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Page 3 of 3 

https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c37.pdf


 

This example is provided for general formatting purposes only. Use at your own risk.  
The ND Legal Self Help Center DOESN’T endorse, warrant, or accept responsibility for the content or 
uses of this formatting example. As a self-represented individual, you must determine the laws that 

apply to your civil action, create the content of your legal documents, and determine if your 
documents are legally sufficient. 

State Of North Dakota    In District Court 
County Of XXXXXX     XXXXXXXX Judicial District 

      )  
Jane Ellen Doe     ) Civil No. 0X-2024-CV-00XXX 
   Petitioner,  ) 
vs      )  
      ) Declaration Of Petitioner 
North Dakota Department of Health,  )  
Vital Records Division              ) 
   Respondents.  ) 

 I, Jane Ellen Doe, the undersigned, state as follows: 

1. I am the Petitioner in this Petition to Establish the Date and Place of Birth. 

2. I am a United States citizen and was born within the United States of America. 

3. I have been a resident of North Dakota since May 2017, and I am currently living in 

XXXXXXX County, North Dakota.  I have lived in XXXXXXX County since May 2017. 

4. I was born in 2001 in the City of XXXXXXX, XXXXXXX County, North Dakota.  My full 

birthdate is listed on the Confidential Information Form filed with the Petition. 

5. I am female. 

6. My parents are and always have been United States citizens.  My parents were not 

transient aliens or alien public ministers or consuls. 

7. My parents are: 

Adam John Doe   Anita Jane Doe 
Deceased June 1, 2021  XXth Street South 
     XXXXX XXXXX, ND 58XXX  

     Maiden Name:  Anita Jane Smith 
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8. I was born at home and my parents never registered my birth with the North Dakota 

Department of Health Vital Records Division. 

9. I attempted to request the registration of a delayed record of birth through the Vital 

Records process, but was unsuccessful. 

10. I declare, under penalty of perjury, that everything I stated in the Declaration of 

Petitioner is true and correct. 

Signed on April 28, 2024, in XXXXXXX City, XXXXXXX County, North Dakota, USA. 

    By: Jane Ellen Doe 
     Jane Ellen Doe 

     XXrd Avenue North 
     XXXXXXX, ND 58XXX 
     Telephone: (701) XXX-XXXX 
     xxxxx@xxxxx.com 
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Caution! You must meet the residency requirements in N.D.C.C. § 32-37-04 before filing this Petition. 
 

This example is provided for general formatting purposes only. Use at your own risk.  
The ND Legal Self Help Center DOESN’T endorse, warrant, or accept responsibility for the content or 
uses of this formatting example. As a self-represented individual, you must determine the laws that 

apply to your civil action, create the content of your legal documents, and determine if your 
documents are legally sufficient. 

State of North Dakota    In District Court 
County of XXXXXXX     XXXXXXXXXX Judicial District 

      )  
Jane Ellen Doe     ) Civil No. 0X-2024-CV-00XXX 
   Petitioner,  ) 
vs      )  
      ) Petition To Establish Date And 
North Dakota Department of Health,  ) Place Of Birth Of A Minor Child 
Vital Records Division              ) 
   Respondents.  ) 

 Petitioner, Jane Ellen Doe, and pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Chapter 32-37, 

respectfully shows the Court as follows: 

1. Petitioner, Jane Ellen Doe, is petitioning to establish the date and place of birth of J.A.D., 

a male minor child. J.A.D.’s full name is listed on the Confidential Information Form filed with 

the Petition. 

2. Petitioner is J.A.D.’s mother. 

3. J.A.D. is a United States citizen and was born within the United States of America. 

4. Petitioner has been a resident of North Dakota since May 2019, and is currently living in 

XXXXXXX County, North Dakota. Petitioner has lived in XXXXXXX County since May 2019. 

5. J.A.D. has lived with the Petitioner in XXXXXXX County, North Dakota since May 2019. 

6. J.A.D. was born in 2019 in the City of XXXXXXX, XXXXXXX County, North Dakota.  J.A.D.’s 

full birthdate is listed on the Confidential Information Form filed with the Petition. 

7. J.A.D.’s parents are not transient aliens or alien public ministers or consuls. 

 

 Page 1 of 3 

https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c37.pdf


Caution! You must meet the residency requirements in N.D.C.C. § 32-37-04 before filing this Petition. 
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8. J.A.D.’s parents are: 

Adam John Doe   Jane Ellen Doe 
Deceased June 1, 2019  XXth Street South 
     XXXXXXX, ND 58XXX  

     Maiden Name: Jane Ellen Smith 

9. J.A.D. was born at home and Petitioner did not register J.A.D.’s birth with the North 

Dakota Department of Health Vital Records Division. 

10. Petitioner attempted to request the registration of a delayed record of birth for J.A.D. 

through the Vital Records Division process, but was unsuccessful. 

11. Petitioner is bringing this Petition because she wants to enroll J.A.D. in school and 

obtain a passport for J.A.D. 

Wherefore, Petitioner requests as follows: 

12. The Court, pursuant to North Dakota Century Code Chapter 32-37, issue an order 

establishing that J.A.D.’s date of birth and place of birth did in fact occur as stated in Paragraph 

6, as also shown in the Affidavit of Petitioner, and by other evidence presented at the hearing. 

Dated April 28, 2024. 

    By: Jane Elle Doe 
     Jane Ellen Doe 

     XXrd Avenue North 
     XXXXXXX, ND 58XXX 
     Telephone: (701) XXX-XXXX 
     xxxxx@xxxxx.com 

 

 

 Page 2 of 3 

https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t32c37.pdf


Caution! You must meet the residency requirements in N.D.C.C. § 32-37-04 before filing this Petition. 
 

This example is provided for general formatting purposes only. Use at your own risk.  
The ND Legal Self Help Center DOESN’T endorse, warrant, or accept responsibility for the content or 
uses of this formatting example. As a self-represented individual, you must determine the laws that 

apply to your civil action, create the content of your legal documents, and determine if your 
documents are legally sufficient. 

Verification 

I, Jane Ellen Doe, declare under penalty of perjury under the law of North Dakota, that I 

am the Petitioner in the above-entitled action; that I have read the Petition to Establish Date 

and Place of Birth of a Minor Child and know the contents thereof and that the same is true, 

except as to matters stated therein upon information and belief as to those matters I state that 

I believe them to be true. 

Signed on April 28, 2024, in XXXXXXX City, XXXXXXX County, North Dakota, USA. 

By: Jane Ellen Doe 
Jane Ellen Doe 
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State Of North Dakota    In District Court 
County Of XXXXXXX     XXXXXXXXXX Judicial District 

      )  
Jane Ellen Doe     ) Civil No. 0X-2024-CV-00XXX 
   Petitioner,  ) 
vs      )  
      ) Declaration Of Petitioner 
North Dakota Department of Health,  )  
Vital Records Division              ) 
   Respondents.  ) 

 I, Jane Ellen Doe, the undersigned, state as follows: 

1. I am the Petitioner in this Petition to Establish Date and Place of Birth of a Minor Child. 

2. The minor child is J.A.D., a male. J.A.D.’s full name is listed on the Confidential 

Information Form filed with the Petition. 

3. I am J.A.D.’s mother. 

4. J.A.D. is a United States citizen and was born within the United States of America. 

5. I have been a resident of North Dakota since May 2019, and I am currently living in 

XXXXXXX County, North Dakota. I have lived in XXXXXXX County since May 2019. 

6. J.A.D. has lived with me in XXXXXXX County, North Dakota since May 2019. 

7. J.A.D. was born in 2019 in the City of XXXXXXX, XXXXXXX County, North Dakota.  J.A.D.’s 

full birthdate is listed on the Confidential Information Form filed with the Petition. 

8. I am and have always been a United States citizen. I have never been a transient alien or 

an alien public minister or consul. 
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9. J.A.D.’s father, Adam John Doe, was a United States citizen and was never a transient 

alien or an alien public minister or consul. 

10. J.A.D.’s parents are: 

Adam John Doe   Jane Ellen Doe 
Deceased June 1, 2018  XXth Street South 
     XXXXXXX, ND 58XXX  

     Maiden Name:  Jane Ellen Smith 

11. J.A.D. was born at home and I did not register J.A.D.’s birth with the North Dakota 

Department of Health Vital Records Division. 

12. I attempted to request the registration of a delayed record of birth for J.A.D. through 

the Vital Records Division process, but was unsuccessful. 

13. I declare, under penalty of perjury, that everything I stated in the Declaration of 

Petitioner is true and correct. 

Signed on April 28, 2024, in XXXXXXX City, XXXXXXX County, North Dakota, USA. 

    By: Jane Ellen Doe 
     Jane Ellen Doe 

     XXrd Avenue North 
     XXXXXXX, ND 58XXX 
     Telephone: (701) XXX-XXXX 
     xxxxx@xxxxx.com 
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State Of North Dakota    In District Court 

County Of __________________________  _______________________ Judicial District 

      ) 
_________________________________ )  
    Petitioner, ) Case No. ____________________________ 
         )    
vs      )  
      ) Confidential Information Form      
_________________________________ ) 
            ) 
           Respondents. ) 
 
    

 
Full Information    Redacted Information    

Petitioner:   

Name:    ________________________________   

Date of Birth:   ________________________________ Year of Birth: ___________ 

Minor Child: 

Name:    _________________________________ Initials: _________ 

Date of Birth:   _________________________________ Year of Birth: ___________ 

Dated _____________________________. 

_____________________________________________________, Petitioner 
(Petitioner’s Signature) 
 
_____________________________________________________ 
(Petitioner’s Printed Name) 
 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
(Address)      (City, State, Zip Code) 
 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
(Telephone Number)     (Email Address) 

https://www.ndcourts.gov/legal-self-help
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STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA    IN DISTRICT COURT 
COUNTY OF XXXXXXX     XXXXXXXXXX JUDICIAL DISTRICT 

      )  
Jane Ellen Doe     ) Civil No. 0X-2024-CV-00XXX 
   PETITIONER,  ) 
vs      )  
      ) NOTICE OF HEARING 
North Dakota Department of Health,  )  
Vital Records Division              ) 
   RESPONDENTS. ) 

 IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF XXXX COUNTY, STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA: 

1. In the Matter of the Application of Jane Ellen Doe [on behalf of J.A.D.], Civil Number 0X-

2024-CV-00XXX. 

2. A Petition has been filed to Establish Date and Place of Birth [of a Minor Child].  A 

hearing will be held at the XXXXXXX County Courthouse on [date of hearing] at [time of 

hearing]. 

Dated this XX day of XXXXX, 2024. 

     
By: ____________________________________ 

     Clerk of District Court 
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This Formatting Example is for the Full Name and BIrthdates. You need to create Two proposed 
findings of fact and order documents. This One with the full name of the minor child, if any, and the 
full birthdate. The Second One with Only the initials of the minor child and the birth Year. 
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documents are legally sufficient. 

State Of North Dakota    In District Court 
County Of XXXXXXX     XXXXXXXXXX Judicial District 

      )  
Jane Ellen Doe     ) Civil No. 0X-2024-CV-00XXX 
    Petitioner, ) 
vs      ) Findings Of Fact And Order  
      ) Establishing Date And Place Of Birth 
North Dakota Department of Health,  )  
Vital Records Division              ) 
            Respondents. ) 

1. This matter came on for hearing on [date, time, and location of hearing], pursuant to 

the verified petition of Jane Ellen Doe to establish the date and place of birth of [the Petitioner, 

a female, Jane Ellen Doe][John Adam Doe, a male minor child]. The honorable [name of District 

Court judge], Judge of District Court, presided. 

2. The Petitioner, Jane Ellen Doe, appeared personally. 

3. The Respondent, North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Vital 

Records Division [was represented at the hearing by Attorney Firstname Lastname][was served 

as required according to the Declaration of Service filed with this Court on XXXXXXX XX, 2024. 

The Respondent did not file a Response, and did not appear at the hearing.] 

4. As required by North Dakota Century Code Section 32-37-03, notice of the hearing in 

this matter was published in the official newspaper of XXXXXXX County, North Dakota, for two 

successive weeks. An Affidavit of Publication was filed with this Court on XXXXXXXX XX, 2024. 
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Based upon the record in this matter, the Court makes the following: 

Findings of Fact 

5. [Findings of fact related to Petitioner, or minor child, and United States citizenship.] 

6. [Findings of fact related to residency in the State of North Dakota and residency in the 

North Dakota County where the petition was filed.]  

7. [Findings of fact related to the full date of birth and city, county, and state of the 

Petitioner’s birth, OR the full date of birth and city, county, and state of minor child’s birth.] 

8. [If Petitioner, or minor child, was born within the United States, findings of fact related 

to the evidence presented to support that fact.] 

9. [Findings of fact related to Petitioner’s, or minor child’s, parents’ full names, including 

mother’s maiden name, and the parents’ current addresses, if living.] 

10. [Findings of fact related to whether or not the parents were transient aliens or alien 

public ministers or consuls.] 

11. [If the Petitioner, or minor child, were born outside the territories of the United States, 

findings of fact that show the Petitioner, or minor child, are United States citizens and the 

evidence presented to support that fact.] 

12. [Findings of fact related to why the birth was never registered with the North Dakota 

Department of Health and Human Services, Vital Records Division.] 
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13. [Findings of fact related to the Petitioner’s unsuccessful attempt to register a delayed 

record of birth through the North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Vital 

Records Division.]  

14. [Findings of fact related to the reason(s) for the Petition.] 

15. Petitioner provided sufficient and competent evidence as documented on the record 

including, but not limited to: [list all evidence presented at the hearing that the court allowed. 

For example, the name and brief description of each document, affidavit, declaration, etc., and 

the name and relationship to the petitioner of each witness from whom the court heard 

testimony.] 

16. The evidence relied upon and the Court’s findings are more specifically set forth in the 

record. 

17. [Additional findings of fact made by the Judge at the hearing that aren’t covered in 

Paragraphs 5-16.] 

Therefore, It Is Hereby Ordered, Adjudged And Decreed As Follows: 

18. That on [FULL birthdate], a [gender of child] of the name of [FULL name, even if a minor 

child] was born to [full names of both parents, including mother’s maiden name,] at [city, 

county and state of birth]. 

19. The Clerk of the Court shall certify a copy of such judgment and file the same with the 

Vital Records Division, North Dakota Department of Health, Bismarck, North Dakota. 
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20. That a birth certificate and other appropriate documentation shall be issued 

immediately by the North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Vital Records 

Division, and with the assistance of any other necessary State agency. 

Dated this XX day of XXXXX, 2024. 

    By: Judge of District Court 
     Judge of District Court 
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State Of North Dakota    In District Court 
County Of XXXXXXX     XXXXXXXXXX Judicial District 

      )  
Jane Ellen Doe     ) Civil No. 0X-2024-CV-00XXX 
    Petitioner, ) 
vs      ) Findings Of Fact And Order  
      ) Establishing Date And Place Of Birth 
North Dakota Department of Health,  )  
Vital Records Division              ) 
            Respondents. ) 

1. This matter came on for hearing on [date, time, and location of hearing], pursuant to 

the verified petition of Jane Ellen Doe to establish the date and place of birth of [the Petitioner, 

a female, Jane Ellen Doe][J.D.E, a male minor child]. The honorable [name of District Court 

judge], Judge of District Court, presided. 

2. The Petitioner, Jane Ellen Doe, appeared personally. 

3. The Respondent, North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Vital 

Records Division [was represented at the hearing by Attorney Firstname Lastname][was served 

as required according to the Declaration of Service filed with this Court on XXXXXXX XX, 2024. 

The Respondent did not file a Response, and did not appear at the hearing.] 

4. As required by North Dakota Century Code Section 32-37-03, notice of the hearing in 

this matter was published in the official newspaper of XXXXXXX County, North Dakota, for two 

successive weeks. An Affidavit of Publication was filed with this Court on XXXXXXXX XX, 2024. 
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Based upon the record in this matter, the Court makes the following: 

Findings of Fact 

5. [Findings of fact related to Petitioner, or minor child, and United States citizenship.] 

6. [Findings of fact related to residency in the State of North Dakota and residency in the 

North Dakota County where the petition was filed.]  

7. [Findings of fact related to the full date of birth and city, county, and state of the 

Petitioner’s birth, OR the full date of birth and city, county, and state of minor child’s birth. List 

ONLY the birth YEAR for Petitioner or minor child.] 

8. [If Petitioner, or minor child, was born within the United States, findings of fact related 

to the evidence presented to support that fact.] 

9. [Findings of fact related to Petitioner’s, or minor child’s, parents’ full names, including 

mother’s maiden name, and the parents’ current addresses, if living.] 

10. [Findings of fact related to whether or not the parents were transient aliens or alien 

public ministers or consuls.] 

11. [If the Petitioner, or minor child, were born outside the territories of the United States, 

findings of fact that show the Petitioner, or minor child, are United States citizens and the 

evidence presented to support that fact.] 

12. [Findings of fact related to why the birth was never registered with the North Dakota 

Department of Health and Human Services, Vital Records Division.] 
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13. [Findings of fact related to the Petitioner’s unsuccessful attempt to register a delayed 

record of birth through the North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Vital 

Records Division.]  

14. [Findings of fact related to the reason(s) for the Petition.] 

15. Petitioner provided sufficient and competent evidence as documented on the record 

including, but not limited to: [list all evidence presented at the hearing that the court allowed. 

For example, the name and brief description of each document, affidavit, declaration, etc., and 

the name and relationship to the petitioner of each witness from whom the court heard 

testimony.] 

16. The evidence relied upon and the Court’s findings are more specifically set forth in the 

record. 

17. [Additional findings of fact made by the Judge at the hearing that aren’t covered in 

Paragraphs 5-16.] 

Therefore, It Is Hereby Ordered, Adjudged And Decreed As Follows: 

18. That on [birth YEAR ONLY], a [gender of child] of the name of [Petitioner’s FULL name, 

minor child’s INITIALS ONLY] was born to [full names of both parents, including mother’s 

maiden name] at [city, county and state of birth]. 

19. The Clerk of the Court shall certify a copy of such judgment and file the same with the 

Vital Records Division, North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Bismarck, 

North Dakota. 
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20. That a birth certificate and other appropriate documentation shall be issued 

immediately by the North Dakota Department of Health, Vital Records Division, and with the 

assistance of any other necessary State agency. 

Dated this XX day of XXXXX, 2024. 

    By: Judge of District Court 
     Judge of District Court 
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