Search Tips

Federal Courts

United States District Court - District of North Dakota

The United States District Court for the District of North Dakota is the United States District Court or the Federal district court, whose jurisdiction is the state of North Dakota. The court is headquartered out of Bismarck at the William L. Guy Federal Building and has additional locations at Fargo, Grand Forks, and Minot. The district was created in 1889, when the Dakota Territory was divided into North Dakota and South Dakota. The Grand Forks courts are located at the Ronald N. Davies Federal Building and U.S. Courthouse.

In 1921, a second temporary judgeship was authorized, however, this was never made permanent and the judgeship expired in 1928. In 1954, a second permanent judgeship was authorized, and the strength of the court has remained unchanged since.

The United States Attorney's Office for the District of North Dakota represents the United States in civil and criminal litigation in the court. Jennifer Klemetsrud Puhl is the United States Attorney for the District of North Dakota. Appeals from the Court are heard by the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit (except for patent claims and claims against the U.S. government under the Tucker Act, which are appealed to the Federal Circuit).

To read and understand more about the Federal Courts, visit

8th Circuit Court of Appeals

The United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit is a United States federal court with appellate jurisdiction over the following United States district courts:

  • Eastern District of Arkansas
  • Western District of Arkansas
  • Northern District of Iowa
  • Southern District of Iowa
  • District of Minnesota
  • Eastern District of Missouri
  • Western District of Missouri
  • District of Nebraska
  • District of North Dakota
  • District of South Dakota