Search Tips

Supreme Court

The North Dakota Supreme Court has five justices. Each justice is elected for a ten-year term in a nonpartisan election. The terms of the justices are staggered so that only one judgeship is scheduled for election every two years. However, in the case of the retirement or death of a justice during the term of office, the Governor can appoint to fill the term for two years, when the person must then run for election.  

Each justice must be a licensed attorney and a citizen of the United States and North Dakota. One member of the Supreme Court is selected as Chief Justice by the justices of the Supreme Court and the District Court Judges. The Chief Justice's term is for five years or until the justice's elected term on the court expires. The Chief Justice's duties include presiding over Supreme Court arguments and conferences, representing the judiciary at official state functions, and serving as the administrative head of the judicial system. 

North Dakota Supreme Court

600 E Boulevard Ave
Bismarck, ND 58505-0530

Office of the Clerk

Phone: (701) 328-2221

North Dakota Supreme Court News

Interest rate set for 2024 judgments

The State Court Administrator has set the interest rate on judgments entered in 2024 at 11.5 percent.

New Opinions: Dec. 1

The Supreme Court posted 5 new opinions on December 1st.

Job Announcement: Staff Attorney

A job announcement for a short-term Staff Attorney with the State Court Administrator's Office has been posted.

Online Lawyer license renewal available

Online Lawyer license renewal available starting November 15, 2023

Notice of Comment/Hearing

Proposed N.D. Sup. Ct. Admin. R.