Search Tips

Lisa K. Fair McEvers


Born in Grafton and raised in Minto, North Dakota; married to James P. McEvers; one child and three step-children.


Graduated Cum Laude from the University of North Dakota in 1993 with a BBA in Information Management. Awarded a Juris Doctorate, with distinction, from the University of North Dakota School of Law in 1997.

Professional Experience

Worked for the Northeast Judicial District in court administration prior to attending law school. Law clerk to the North Dakota Supreme Court, 1997-1998; private legal practice, 1998-2001; Cass County Assistant State’s Attorney, 2001 to 2005; appointed North Dakota Commissioner of Labor in July 2005; appointed District Judge in 2010 and elected to the position in 2012; appointed to the North Dakota Supreme Court in 2014; and in 2016, elected to an unexpired two-year term. Re-elected to a ten-year term in 2018.

Memberships and Committees

Served on the Judicial Education Commission; the Judiciary Standards Committee; the Rough Rider Industries Prison Advisory Board; the State Bar Association’s Commission for Continuing Legal Education; the Domestic Violence Benchbook Subcommittee; the Commission on the Alternatives to Incarceration; the Pattern Jury Instruction Commission; the Cass County Resource Committee on Elder Abuse; the North Dakota Judges Association; the Personnel Policy Board; the Juvenile Drug Court Advisory Committee; the North Dakota Attorney General’s Human Trafficking Commission; the North Dakota Dual Status Youth Initiative Group; and the Executive Committee of Judicial Conference. Currently chairs the Juvenile Policy Board, 2013 to present; and the Joint Procedure Committee, 2017 to present.  Currently serves on the United Tribes Criminal Justice Advisory Board, 2014 to present; and the Children’s Cabinet, 2019 to present.