Search Tips


Created in 1979 to include Benson, Bottineau, Cavalier, McHenry, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Renville, Rolette, Towner and Walsh counties. The  Northeast Judicial District is part of Unit 1 that also includes the Northeast Central Judicial District. The Unit 1 administrator is Scott Johnson and the assistant court administrator is Kelly Hutton.

Case Flow Management Plan


Laurie A. Fontaine

Presiding Judge

Chambers: Cavalier and Langdon NEJD #5
Elected in 1998

Donovan J. Foughty

District Court Judge

Chambers: Devils Lake – NEJD #4
Appointed in 1987

Michael P. Hurly

District Court Judge

Chambers: Rugby – NEJD #2
Appointed in 2017

Lonnie Olson

District Court Judge

Chambers: Devils Lake – NEJD #1
Elected in 2016

Barbara L. Whelan

District Court Judge

Chambers: Grafton – NEJD #6
Appointed in 2017