Search Tips

Administrative Order 5 - JOINT TASK FORCE ON FAMILY LAW

Effective Date: 6/19/1996

This Order establishes a Joint Task Force on Family Law and shall be in effect until December 31, 1997.

A. Membership.

1. The Task Force consists of seven members of the State Bar Association (Association) who primarily practice in the area of family law and seven members of the trial bench.

a. The president of the Association appoints seven members of the Association to serve on the Task Force whose appointments are confirmed by the Board of Governors.
b. The Chief Justice appoints seven members of the trial bench to serve on the Task Force.

2. The Task Force is chaired by a member appointed by the president of the Association in consultation with the Chief Justice.

3. The Task Force is staffed by the Association.

B. Expenses.

1. Expenses incurred by members appointed by the Association are reimbursed by the Association.

2. Expenses incurred by members appointed by the Chief Justice are reimbursed by the Supreme Court.

C. Mission.

1. Review family law procedures and related matters presently used by the judicial system in North Dakota to:

a. evaluate the need for changes to ensure accessibility to the system and responsiveness of the system;
b. assess the impact of court unification on the process;
c. evaluate the effectiveness of the process for clients, attorneys, and the courts;and
d. make appropriate recommendations.

2. Review dispute resolution alternatives to determine potential application in the family law system.

3. Evaluate public education programs dealing with the impact of divorce and separation on the family unit to determine the need for new programs, or the refinement of existing programs, and the feasibility of mandating such programs by court rule.

D. Recommendations.

The task force will submit a final report, including any adopted recommendations, to the Board of Governors and the Supreme Court by December 31, 1997.

E. Effective Date.

This Order is adopted effective immediately and shall terminate on December 31, 1997.

Dated at Bismarck, North Dakota, June 19, 1996.

Gerald W. VandeWalle, Chief Justice
Herbert L. Meschke, Justice
William A. Neumann, Justice
Dale V. Sandstrom, Justice
Mary Muehlen Maring, Justice


Penny Miller, Clerk
North Dakota Supreme Court

[Adopted effective January 11, 1995; amended June 19, 1996]

Effective Date Obsolete Date
06/19/1996 View