Search Tips


Effective Date: 1/1/1995


Section 1. Authority.

The North Dakota Judicial System provides for jury bailiff services in the district courts.Pursuant to Article VI, Section 3, North Dakota Constitution, the Supreme Court adopts this Administrative Rule relating to bailiffs.

Section 2. Statement of Policy and Purpose.

It is the policy of the North Dakota Judicial System to provide for uniform qualifications, employment, authority, compensation, training, and conduct of jury bailiffs among the district courts of the North Dakota Judicial System.

Section 3. Qualifications.

Minimum qualifications for bailiffs shall include:

(a) United States citizenship; and
(b) physical residence within the judicial district served, unless physical residence is waived by the presiding judge of the judicial district.

Section 4. Employment, Compensation, and Authority.

(a) The presiding judge, on behalf of the judges in the judicial district, shall employ all jury bailiffs for the district court. Jury bailiffs shall be compensated pursuant to the appropriate compensation schedule established by the North Dakota Judicial System. District court jury bailiffs are temporary, part-time employees of the North Dakota Judicial System.

(b) The presiding judge may delegate administrative authority over jury bailiffs to the district court administrator, clerk of court, or other administrative authority by executing such delegation in writing.

Section 5. Role of Jury Bailiffs.

Jury bailiffs shall:

(a) attend to the needs of the jury; and
(b) assist the court as directed.

Jury bailiffs shall not provide law enforcement services to the court.

Section 6. Training.

The State Court Administrator's Office shall develop a manual to assist local courts in training and providing instructions to jury bailiffs.

The presiding judge of the judicial district shall provide for appropriate periodic training programs for all jury bailiffs of all courts of the judicial district.

Dated this 16th day of November, 1994, as amended, effective January 1, 1995.

Gerald W. VandeWalle, Chief Justice
Herbert L. Meschke, Justice
Beryl J. Levine, Justice
William A. Neumann, Justice
Dale V. Sandstrom, Justice

Penny Miller, Clerk
North Dakota Supreme Court

SOURCE: Court Services Administration Committee Meeting Minutes of September 23, 1988, and November 4, 1988; Section 27-07.1-16, NDCC; Section 27-05-02.1, NDCC; amended effective January 1, 1995.

Effective Date Obsolete Date
01/01/1995 View